is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Driving!

Driving!

I just posted the proposed route. Time, inclination, and Evany might intervene to make the route vary, but this is what I've proposed. You'll be shocked or relieved to know that I have restrained my undue diligence and have not made reservations or detailed plans except for at the two national parks where we'll be staying. We have to get to Yellowstone by Friday, so elk can nap on our cabin porch for a couple of days, and then we have to get to the Badlands by Monday, so we can be in a film with Benicio Del Toro.

I am excited about the trip and about the new life and about the longest job title in the world, etc., but I also just walked down the street crying at 8 am! San Francisco, she is my lady, and she is fully of foxy ladies and men whom I do not want to leave.

Colleen is currently making us chocolate chip cookies for the drive. At 8 am! Plus, she has to spend a month alone with Hans Blix (the cat, not the U.N. weapons inspector) before my Mom flies him to the east. (That's right. My mom is going to fly him.)

Last night the dinner I set up for a few friends turned into a huge affair of thirteen. We gathered Evany, Liz, Leah, Ivan, Jeff, Caroleen, Halliday, Amy B, Amy S, Sunshine, Leisa, Colleen and me around a banquet table at Pauline's and ate a bunch of gourmet pizza, and drank some yummy wines brought by Leah and Liz. Then we hung out for a while at the strange new bar that used to be Doctor Bombays but is now some kind of rave chill room? Full of bed-like couches? We were joined there by Emma and Mr. Perrone and Adrienne. It was fun. I felt loved. I took lots of silly polaroids that I would post for you if I had not already packed my scanner.

In case you are wondering, it costs $643 to ship 17 boxes to Massachusetts.

By the way, I'll be back in SF for a visit six weeks from today! By which I mean to say: I AM A BIG BABY.

8:35 a.m. - August 25, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me