is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The 9th Wonder of the World, for the day.

You know how sometimes you find a product or hear an idea, and it is just the most perfect thing ever, solving a problem you�ve had that you�ve never quite gotten a handle on, or opening up a whole new world of possibilities, such that you can�t believe no one has thought if it before? Well, the Austrians have done it again. (No, I'm not talking about Art Nouveau, psychoanalysis, coffee houses, or Logical Positivism, silly!) Voil�, the Airmici inflatable boot tree! They are oblong inflatable things that you blow up and stick in your boots to keep the boots standing up. So much better than rolled up pieces of cardboard, or those stiff plastic things you�re supposed to use to keep your boots in shape. So much better.

If you are feeling skeptical about the necessity I have attached to this product, it must be because you do not appreciate how important it is to keep cute boots in good shape!

Anyway, I found these wondrous boot forms because of one of my divas. (Ha, and here I reveal to you that I have a VeryPartTime job managing the bloggers for a site called SocialDiva.com, a blog that has fifteen bloggers contributing their thoughts on all things diva-ish. And so every now and then I hear myself thinking the phrase �my divas� to myself, and it always feels slightly absurd. In fact I am certain that I should begin to be worried as soon as it stops carrying with it that ring of absurdity.) As I was saying, my divas are intrepid, and this is not the first time they have steered me in the right direction.

Anyway, so far I have only found these miraculous Austrian boot wonders on a site in the UK, and so far that site won�t let me make an order because I don�t have a recognizable postal code, being all �American� and such, but I have written the shit out of an over-enthusiastic email to the company asking what, just what!?, I have to do to get me some of them bootforms! Plus it�s only 10 pounds (in money, not weight� that is $19!) to get four pairs! I just ran to my closet and counted how many I need and I have to tell you that I need to order at least two sets of four pairs. Because a girl can never have too many pairs of foxy, foxy boots.

Speaking of shoes, I�ve entered into a Nana renaissance. Remember Nana? The place where you use to buy your Creepers and your Doc Martens, or, if you were like me in college, the place where you used to wish you had the money to buy some Creepers or some Doc Martens, so you just lurked around looking longingly at shoes while salespeople looked at you like you might try to shoplift something? Well, Nana is currently making some very cute shoes! A month or so ago when I had some cash, I bought two pairs at a sale, and both of them are inching their way into the category of �ideal.� In the case of shoes, �ideal� means: TOTALLY cute, and also comfortable, while filling a niche that needs filled, as well as being durable. One pair I�ve worn all over campus, and even though they look fancy-pants (because of the sparkly and the velvet trim), I am telling you that they can withstand the most stubborn forms of gooseshit and rain mud. Plus, somehow the sparkles don�t fall off, the way sparkles often do. It�s some kind of magic voodoo version of a cute Audrey Hepburn shoe. I tend to wear them with cropped jeans, to dress down the princess vibe they might otherwise radiate.

And then there�s this one, which I wore all day at a conference, two days in a row, that involved a lot of walking around and standing around, and they had just the right amount of arch support and cute insouciance to keep me happy with them all day and long into the evening. I wouldn�t wear them to a job interview or one of those uptight job-getting conferences, but that�s the point! They are cute and a bit tuff. Like Hans Blix (TCNTUNWI), without the hairballs.

And, finally, I recently won, on eBay, a boot of my dreams that I�ve always wanted but which was simply too much money. Not allowed. But one day, a day on which I happened to have quite an impressive paypal balance due to some recent selling off of clothes and other household items, said boots were listed IN EXACTLY MY SIZE (which means: destiny), for sale, on eBay, by someone who had only worn the boots three times. And, though I really should have used that money to pay off some more old bills, I didn�t. The shoes are mine. I gave myself some SUGAR.

I also found this blog, which is really beautiful. It made me think about how most of my entries lately have been chatty and superficial instead of philosophically interesting or beautiful.

So I ran right out and wrote an entry about SHOES.

12:11 a.m. - November 02, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me