is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back in the Quakerhood.

Look how handsome the woodduck looks today!

Just before I saw the woodduck, I was walking down the 13 MPH road, mind wandering, listening to a playlist given to me by Gus, when all of a sudden I heard truck-backing-up-beeps, and I realized my favorite mailroom guy had just driven by and was backing his truck up to say hi to me. Ha. So I took off my headphones and he and I had a funny conversation while he let the truck roll and I walked down the 13 MPH road. He wondered why he had not seen me in so long. I told him I had been in San Francisco for a month. He could not believe that I was from San Francisco. I assured him I was. His conclusion was: "Well, you're my Philly girl now!" I told him that must be true.

Last night my flight was a bit late getting in because when I changed flights in Phoenix, I happened to look outside the gate window and realized that the plane I was supposed to board was being hosed down by a fire engine! Luckily finding a new aircraft didn't take very long. And, extra lucky for me, Gus picked me up at the airport. I mean, I love the fact that I can take public transit straight from the airport to 1 block from my house�it's part of what makes Philadelphia a real city�but few things are better than having someone you're really happy to see pick you up at the airport.

Today, however, the reality of leaving for four days for a job interview during the second week of classes set in, and I have So. Much. To. Do. It is overwhelming. And yet tonight I must attend a lecture and dinner by and for Judith Butler. Which will be good, and fun. But part of me would rather TCB and then ZZZ, because did I mention I'm also REALLY TIRED?

Nonetheless, after a slow and somewhat dismal start, I somehow managed to get my students into a semi-lively discussion about the first three chapter's of HLA Hart's The Concept of Law. If you've ever read that book, you'll know why I feel like either I must be magic, or they are.

However it does help that there just happen to be a bunch of people in the class who fundamentally disagree about what law is or ought to be. We've got positivists and natural law thinkers. We've got idealists and realpolitikers. Liberals and legal realists. Disciplined philosophers and free-thinking dreamers. Some of them may not even know which of these names apply to them yet. But as long as they keep saying what they think, it promises to be a lively class in general.

4:34 p.m. - February 01, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me