is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Boxes and Brownies.

Boxes and Brownies.

I bought the packing supplies today. A bulk pack of medium-sized moving boxes. The man at the store carried it to my car for me, and slid it right into the back seat. Things were not so easy when I got home and tried to slide the boxes right out. No. Somehow the boxes had grown, and taken on a shape larger than the size of my car door. We worked through that problem together, the boxes and I. Then there was the whole �getting the boxes up the stairs� farce. It took some time, and some ingenuity. During the time this �ingenuity� took to strike me with an idea, I realized that I was muttering to myself, out loud, the phrase, �yes, I certainly must be able to do this!� over and over again. There was no one there to hear me but myself, but that was embarrassing enough.

I �rolled� them up the stairs by using a stair and the edge of the boxes to give me something against which I could use leverage to lift the whole packet up and over the stair and then crashing down on a higher stair, at which point I would start over again.

Then I carried all my groceries up the stairs, and was very happy that I had bought more beer. Also, last night I made brownies, the kind made with bakers chocolate. Today I am going to make the kind made with cocoa, for a taste test. Which is better? Apparently I really must know the answer to this most pressing of questions.

This weekend: nectarine-blueberry pie!

4:11 p.m. - July 29, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me