is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I'm in a glass case of emotion!"

"I'm in a glass case of emotion!"

I just saw Anchorman again... with Colleen and Eliza, who both had also already seen it. It is so very funny. In fact, it is so funny that I would see it again. And again. Some one I know or some critic I read has said that Anchorman isn't funny because it is another one of those movies that feels like an SNL skit gone too too long. I want to make sure that you all know that this is NOT TRUE. In fact, each of the main characters of the movie are so funny/pathetic and simultaneously stereotypical but peppered with quirky individuality that they get funnier with a second viewing, and many of them could carry their own movie comedy. This is especially true of Paul Rudd, whose performances tend to be underrated in general, I think. There are also excellent cameos by Vince Vaughn, Tim Robbins, Luke Wilson and Ben Stiller (who is always funniest when limited to cameos). But of course the real reason Anchorman is so funny is that it lets Will Ferrell be Will Ferrell, and Will Ferrell is funny whenever he breathes.

Tonight I made the cocoa brownies while drinking beer and watching the Democratic Convention. I meant to do the cocoa brownie versus baker's chocolate brownie taste test, and to make Colleen and Eliza do it too, but then, all of a sudden like, we were at the movies watching Anchorman again, and now I'm sickened from the popcorn. Results will have to wait until tomorrow.

Now I'm back home, in bed, trying to "take rights seriously" with Ronald Dworkin. I wish that were a metaphor for something more sexy, but it is not. I am alone, in bed, reading a book about liberal conceptions of rights. The End.

In other news, tonight as I walked calmly down the hall in my fabulous pink boots, Hans Blix (the cat, not the U.N. weapons inspector) calmly reached up and tore three bloody gashes in my left knee. For no reason! Unless being possessed by satan counts as a "reason." I will not be saying to Hans Blix what Ron Burgundy says to his dog in Anchorman: "You're so wise. You're like a miniature Buddha covered with hair!"

I did, however, clip the shit out of some cat claws. You may be powered by satan, Blixy 3000, but I can still sit on your back and clip your sharp talons! I am drunk with power!

12:39 a.m. - July 30, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me