is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1) More Evidence that Hans Blix is a Rocker. 2) Sighting of a Stonemason�s Apprentice from Flanders 1438. 3) h2so4 #19 is HERE.

1. Paul Adams, Potentate, has written to inform me that he believes that Hans Blix (the cat, not the U.N. Weapons Inspector) is indeed a new waver, with his orange eye liner and his skinny tie. Paul knows a new waver when he sees one. (Right now I am picturing Mr. Adams in a funny 80s blazer dancing like a madman to the early Duran Duran song �Careless Memories.� This is not just my overactive imagination. I�ve SEEN it happen. In fact I think I was dancing just as furiously. Why? Because the back room of the Townsend Club, when it comes to bourbon, serves only Wild Turkey 151.)

However, looks can be deceiving. The other day when I was listening to Cheap Trick, Hans Blix snuggled contentedly by my side. Later on, when I was listening to long moody Talk Talk songs late into the night, he bit me. You may draw your own conclusions. I for one think Hans Blix has Rock Fever.

Speaking of rock, and dancing, why did that rock club Sixxteen go away? Why?

2. The other day I was walking down 21st Street towards Mission to go to 12 Galaxies to see some lovely ladies play music at Ladyfest. I was lucky enough to have Mr. Perrone at my side. Then, all of a sudden like, I saw someone wearing what might have been the craziest outfit I have ever seen. I�m not sure I can even describe it. He had on taupe Capezio dance shoes, exceedingly high-waisted tan pleated pants of a flowing fabric, some fucked up kind of brown leather belt that seemed to be double wrapped around his above-waist area, a white sweater that had been cut so that it was barely even a garment, it just hung off his shoulders a bit and formed a half-moon frown over his abdomen area. Around his head he had a scarf of some sort, double-wrapped, with a bounteous tail hanging off to the side, his hair sticking straight up over the head wrap. Plus his skin seemed to be of the same unnatural brown color scheme as the rest of his outfit. And maybe he was filthy with dirt? I couldn�t quite tell, because the white sweater looked fairly clean, but he looked like he had maybe rolled around in some damp dirt just before dressing. Or maybe he bathes with olive oil instead of water like the ancient Greeks did? There was something really off about the whole scene, as if an actor had just walked into the wrong soundstage or something.

So I said, �whoa. [pause] Whoa! [pause] WHOA. [pause] Damn!� Mr. Perrone and I got our eyes all full of the spectacle, and then, after we had walked on for awhile, each of us trying to explain it to ourselves silently, Mr. Perrone said, �you know, what was crazy about that guy was that he wasn�t even a throwback to any identifiable style or era. Unless maybe he�s the apprentice to a smithy* in Flanders circa 1438.�

Indeed, I have come to believe that that is the ONLY feasible explanation. Apparently there is a rift in the fabric of time and space somewhere near Mission and 21st Street, and Mike Reno from Loverboy got stuck in it, spent the last 10 years in fifteenth-century Flanders, where he was forced to do the bidding of a petty and sadistic tradesman in order to earn his keep, and now he has emerged again in twenty-first century San Francisco. What do you think he did first, of all the things he could have chosen to do in the modern world? I think he traded something he had carried with him for that headscarf.

*Mr. Perrone might actually have said stonemason or something like that, rather than �smithy.� Let�s just say that this is all paraphrase rather than direct quotation.

3. h2so4 #19 is in the house. I am getting ready to label and ship them out. It�s a good issue. Evany is brilliant, Dave Eggers is funny and poignant, I am long-winded, and then there are surprises, too. I had requested that the cover be purple and black, and it is actually kinda lilac, like that suburban camouflage color? It bummed me out at first, but no one else seems to think it is repellent, so I am guessing that my disappointment stems from my imaginings of one kind of purple bumping up against the reality of another kind of purple. h2so4 was printed inside the cave, whereas it was imagined in the bright light of the sun.

7:15 p.m. - August 05, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me