is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

J Gets Stuff Done. Plus: "Campus Safety"--Subtle Hazing.

J Gets Stuff Done. Plus: "Campus Safety"--Subtle Hazing.

Finished the book review. TODAY. Not due until TOMORROW.

Installed the DSL. It appears to be working.

Bought a small rubber part for $1.38, laid down underneath my car, and fixed the muffler thingamabob, rather than paying a mechanic to do it. It was raining. I got dirty.

FINALLY got a set of extra keys to my house, after waiting three weeks, going to "campus safety" (in itself a traumatic process*) three times because I was told the keys were there, and spending approximately 1 hour on the phone talking to various people about why it was so hard to get a set of keys. The first time I went to "campus safety" there were no keys. That was followed by lots of phone calling. The second time the keys were there, but they were left there for the person from whom I am subletting, not me. More phone calling. The third time I went to "campus safety" I had been told that the keys were finally left in my name, but when the guy looked at me and said, "Are you Martha?" I got smart and just said "yes." Luckily he didn't ask for my I.D. ... The End.

*"campus safety" is part of a college-wide hazing plot that I have only just begun to figure out. This is how it works: someone tells some new person to go somewhere to do something. Like "campus safety" or "campus center." New person thinks, OK, I'll go there. Then new person looks at the campus map and finds that no such place exists. Tries to find it in the alphabetical listings of places, but still no luck. New person calls someone, asks, "what building is 'campus safety' in?" "It's in 'physical plant'." Sounds like a Led Zeppelin video, but it is STILL NOT ON THE CAMPUS MAP. Turns out "campus safety" is in the campus police building, which IS on the map. I figure it out on my own, NO THANKS TO ANYONE ELSE. The outside of the building says Physical Plant. The campus map calls it Campus Police. The Housing Office (which is listed in the directory under "Rental Properties" but which call itself "Housing Office") calls it "campus safety." Similar story with "campus center," where I am told to go to a meeting so I can learn how not to sexually harass my students. (btw, it is not against campus policy to date students!!!???!) I ask a student where the campus center is (hoping that this isn't some kind of pick-up line amongst students, since I have not yet learned how not to sexually harass them) and she points the way. Turns out it is called Keefe Campus Center. Makes me want to cry. It actually feels like people are trying to be mean to me, though of course they are not.

7:13 p.m. - September 30, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me