is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Party Report.

Party Report.

The party was fun. It was also more sedate than the usual party at the SF house. That was my intent in making it a cocktail party, inviting fewer people, having people dress up, and starting it early� but I didn't know whether that would work or not. It did. No glassware was broken. Not much dancing happened. As far as I know no make-out sessions occurred. But it was fun. Drinks, talking, hilarity, the like. It was nice to have all those people gathered in the same house, too. I spent most of the night making Manhattans for people, and then drinking one for every pitcher I made. Miraculously I didn't have a hangover the next day.

A friend of a friend of Evany's sat on the couch and flirted with me for a few hours, and I think he didn't even know that I had made flirting with me a requirement for attendance at the party. Plus he was cute and smart, and all this pleased me. Also, Steve Dye kept walking up to me and fluttering his eyelashes. Finally I asked him: Dude, what up? And he revealed to me that he was following the directions on the invite. Ha.

I wore the gold lame Marc Jacobs skirt that I got at Loehmann's two years ago and never wore. And a velvet top, plus long black gloves. Evany wore a very cute new dress that she had IM'd me about from the dressing room. Richard showed up late in a very lovely suit. He looked handsome, and he also pleased us by doing the Austrian new wave dance on command. Julie L also wore a fabulous cocktail dress and long black gloves. Emma looked smashing as always. Liz had hot boots on. Adrienne wore cute heels, for me. Caroleen a hot skirt. Keith and Rachel got a babysitter and showed up! Roderick and Cynthia were there. And Ben, and Gayle in the special orange cocktail hat with netting. I am certain I must be forgetting many good outfits. It was a good crowd.

And Emma, Steve Dye and Gibbs didn't leave until, like, three in the morning. Everyone else had left by, like, 1:30, with another huge (east bay) contingent leaving around 11:30 (party started at 8). Emma, Steve, Gibbs and I sat around in the kitchen while I did the dishes, talking about life and the like. Upon speaking about it, I realized that one of the things that makes it hard to talk about Amherst when asked is that I do like it there, but it is very different from this San Francisco life, and so being there gives me this glimpse into a whole other life I could have that would be very different from this life, but still livable. But I like THIS life, so what is up with the other life? Etc.

Plus if I had that life it would definitely have to be supplemented with trips to places where social events really do happen, and I'm invited.

Yesterday morning Liz IM'd me these two lines:
liz: I have come to a very important conclusion.
jill: what?
liz: You should make out with that guy S---- from your party.
jill: I like your findings.
This was followed by a more elaborate theory on her part of why this should happen and how she came to her conclusion. Ha.

11:30 a.m. - November 23, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me