is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good Parties and the Recovery They Require.

Good Parties and the Recovery They Require.

New Year's Eve was fun! Lots of people showed up for Sunny's party, and there was dancing, drinking and all kinds of frolicking. Leisa and Amy S looked foxy in their new outfits, and Sunny was dashing in a green suit. Jeff and Ivan sat on chairs while Liz and Caroleen danced. Liz's dancing was much more pronounced than Caroleen's. Marco and his boy-friends all showed up despite the fact that Evany was out of town. It was, as always, good to see them. At some point, like 2 in the morning, Sunny kicked out anyone she didn't know and the party got smaller, and that was also fun. I was in bed by 4 or so. Unfortunately I had consumed a combination of rum punch, bourbon and champagne throughout the evening. And champagne sometimes has a truth serum effect on me that does not go well with drunkenness. So on New Year's Day I had a hangover and some embarrassment to make my way through, but nothing earth-shattering. By 3pm I was feeling fine and reading some Levinas essays. Then I spent many many hours watching television and eating frozen pizza, and I thoroughly enjoyed that form of hangover recovery.

I then wrote a long thing about Levinas that just now, as I was re-reading it, struck me as more of a conversation with myself than anything else. If tomorrow it seems like any portion of it is worth sharing (by which I mean, if any of it is anywhere near fully articulated), I'll post it. If not, perhaps I'll encounter more rough-housing reindeer and stories will ensue.

Oh. Perhaps you are wondering whether, at Sunny's party, as predicted, anyone knocked off my fake nose and then shunned me because it became clear that I am The Other. Answer: yes and no. I am still waiting to hear whether my bravery in the face of snowmonsters and my goodness in finding homes for misfit toys will bring me the love of all, or only of some. I suspect it will be the love only of some, and, well, as I've said in the past, that is just fine with me.

9:41 p.m. - January 02, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me