is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Even Garments Have Gender Trouble. However, Hair Products Do Not.

Even Garments Have Gender Trouble. However, Hair Products Do Not.

By the way, just because my jacket is my boyfriend, does not mean that my jacket is a boy. That is a lesson we all must learn at some moment in the lexicon of Jill's idiosyncratic word choices. In fact, in the much-mentioned but not-found Top Ten list of people-whom-Jill-has-made-friends-refer-to-as-her-boyfriend, there were human beings of all genders, sexualities, alive and long dead, etc. You can see for yourself, because the lists have now been found! My cousin Adam, AKA "Personal Google" (my favorite Depeche Mode song), found the Top Ten list even though I couldn't.

Funny thing: Martin Donovan is not on the list! However, Robert John Burke is, and he is also in almost every Hal Hartley film ever made, alongside Martin Donovan. Second funny thing: Adam found the list by Googling "h2so4 top ten martin donovan." Turns out, someone else mentioned Martin Donovan in a list of favorite film moments, so Adam's Google Combo (my new favorite band) found the list of Top Ten lists even though I mis-remembered the contents of my own list. Is that what Sting would call synchronicity? Because I don't think it is what Carl Jung would call synchronicity. So here's the link. If you want to see my list, scroll down to the bottom. It's third from last. (And note: there will be new top ten lists coming soon. I'm collecting them at this moment, for a site update circa February 1.)

I am currently pretending it is 1973 and Bryan Ferry is my boyfriend. Because I am still really really happy about the second Roxy Music album this week, the one called For Your Pleasure. I've been listening to it 2-3 times a day. It accompanied me today as I baked the walnut/bittersweet chocolate tart for a dinner party that was then cancelled because of a child's tonsillitis. So for dinner I had romaine lettuce and too much very yummy tart. Anyway, I promise I'll start listening to something new soon. As soon as I find something new worth listening to. I have plans for making that happen. I am about to put them into motion, when I get some spare time from all the hoo-hawing and doo-dadding I have to do to get ready for the semester that begins on Monday.

I had a really productive day today but describing any of it would be uninteresting, so I'll end this entry with a product endorsement. Before I left San Francisco I went to the beauty supply store in my neighborhood to get some of that shampoo that stops dyed blonde hair from turning brassy, and while I was there I made the mistake of talking to the clerk, and so I ended up buying some over-priced hair reconstructor and some pomade, both of the Enjoy brand, which the clerk assured me is not well known but offers excellent products. And you know what? SHE WAS RIGHT! I am in love with both of these products (however neither of them is my boyfriend). The hair reconstructor is a light conditioner that makes parched overbleached hair feel new again, and soft as a leetle tiny chick (of the baby chicken variety). All you have to do is put it in your hair and comb it through, then rinse it out. No standing around waiting for it to do whatever it does when you use that stuff that you have to leave in for five minutes. And the pomade, in addition to having the perfect not-too-sweet and not-sickly-synthetic coconut smell, is of a perfect consistency such that it does not leave your hair feeling or looking greasy, but it holds it in place all day, and is even moveable. By which I mean you can style it in one way in the morning, and then if, all fancifully, you feel like wearing it a different way later, like sticking straight up, or slicked back, or something, you just reposition your hair and it pretty much stays there. Like magic. The end.

PS--Aren't you excited that Evany has a new entry posted? I am.

11:41 p.m. - January 20, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me