is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blizzard.

Blizzard.

On Saturday night about two feet of snow fell. Plus it was windy and loud and creepy in the farmhouse. I slept with the light on. In the morning I woke up and assumed there was a lot of snow outside but couldn't be sure, because all of my windows were entirely frosted over.

Later in the day things melted a bit and lots of amazing icicles formed.

Anyway, at about noon, when I was yoga-ing, there was a knock on my door. Nasser was standing there looking like I'd done something wrong. He has a formidable skill with exasperation-seeming that I quite enjoy, given how often it seems to be a mode of being rather than a real form of exasperation. So I looked at him and said, "Hi!" He said, "Give me your keys." Me: "Huh?" Him (with the exasperation-seeming): "It will all turn to ice if I don't dig the cars out now." I was all, "Um, you know, I can do that now that I know it needs to be done." He, prince among men, simply said, "Give me your keys." And so I made him some pancakes, and we sat around making fun of our gendered roles. Then we talked about Guantanamo Bay.

Later that day I watched the Steelers vs. the Patriots on a very large television at Tom's house, and I drank beer and ate tacos and ice cream. Then I tried to make my car drive home down an underplowed street while shaking convulsively (me, not the car) with how cold it was despite the strength of my parkaboyfriend.

In other news, apparently Spongebob Squarepants is gay.

Also, cousin Adam wrote to point out that he used the "site:" keyword in the search process. So if you type "site: h2so4.net Martin Donovan" into the Google box, the search will look for Martin Donovan only on that site.

And then! Hans Blix (the cat, not the U.N. weapons inspector) is registered as a Frequent Flyer in United Airlines' Pet Class.

I have been experimenting with the colorsplash flash for the Lomo. There was a full moon last night so I tried some outdoor photography, but then I remembered how COLD it is out there. Too cold for long exposure photography, my friends.

Just heard I'm on another "long short list" for a job. Taught the first class today in the Octagon. Bought an airline ticket to go to Dallas (to see cousin Adam), Austin (to attend a conference) and San Francisco (duh!) in March over the Amherst spring break.

And that is the news.

12:07 a.m. - January 25, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me