is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Banter Report, News Flashes.

Banter Report, News Flashes.

When Chris called the other day he said he wanted to meet later but he wasn�t sure when because he had to wait for someone who had a meeting at Chinese Dentist. I said, �Chinese Dentist?� He said, �Tooth Hurty.� Me: �What?� Him: �2:30.� Me: �Oh. You�re funny.�

Hans Blix (the cat, not the U.N. Weapons Inspector) got his first dreadlock last week. I tried to cut it out of his fur but he screamed and yelled and attacked me as if I were trying to cut off one of his back legs or something. So I waited until he was sleeping and then cut the shit out of it. Total Samson story. Except that he woke up as powerful as ever.

Lou called me on the phone on Sunday, from ENGLAND. That was exciting.

The chair of my department walked up to me in the faculty dining room the other day and introduced me to a colleague of his as �one of America�s greatest legal theorists� (he is prone to hyperbole and "testing things out"). I said pleased to meet you to the colleague and to the chair I said, �I�ll pay you later.�

I�m working on some paint-by-number paintings with patches left unpainted in the shape of words. I might make them into mugs or Tshirts or something, at Caf� Press. Of course I will let you know if I do. The current piece is called �Is this still life?� I think the next one will be called �Are we just friends?� They�re cute, OK?

Did you know that you can now make custom TRACK SUITS at Caf� Press?! Ha. You can also buy Evany mugs and Heidi mugs there.

I got a CD by a British band called Thirteen Senses. I think they can�t decide whether they want to be Radiohead or Coldplay. So I can�t decide whether I�m allowed to like them. (It would be OK to want to be Radiohead, but not OK to want to be Coldplay. Digression: I have this theory that Coldplay is the band liked by guys who think they are sensitive but are not. I tested out that theory on Jeff and Caroleen once and Jeff got indignant because apparently he likes Coldplay. So allow me to make this clear: Jeff is not an asshole.) Anyway, I am currently enjoying the CD�s on-the-way-to-being-stadium rock, even though the lead singer needs to ween himself off Thom Yorke (because Thom Yorke is already Thom Yorke! And he is EVERYWHERE). The music is big and orchestrated-sounding, and some of the lyrics are really good, whereas others are so very unsurprising that they verge on annoying unless you just decide to listen to the overall musical product and ignore most of the word-moments. Back in December I heard a good moment or two of one of the songs from the album on a TV show (and it wasn�t even one of those shows that advertises the album to you afterward. I had to search online by the lyrics to find out who it was) and it ripped my heart out which is why I sought out and bought the album. Because apparently I want my heart to be ripped out? But only by music.

12:22 p.m. - February 03, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me