is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moore-Kutcher, and More.

Moore-Kutcher, and More.

On the way to class yesterday, I was suddenly struck by that sad, bad stomach feeling that I get when I�m about to do something I don�t want to do. Then I realized I was dreading teaching because of the whole �I�m Hott� revelation. I assumed that that would pass quickly, as soon as I started teaching. And it did. Once I got into the class and stood at my little lectern and started talking, it became clear very quickly that nothing had changed. I was still the teacher, they were still the students, The End.

In the meantime, I have continued to have a lot of different reactions to the whole �can I take you on a date� thing (which is funny, given that it is something that didn�t even happen, except in a conversation with Nasser which was then passed on to me). So, after the initial alarm, here are my contradictory feelings on the matter.
1. happiness. Someone wants to take me on a date! Apparently that matters even when it is a date on which I will never go.
2. sadness. How come no one will take me on date?!
3. old person�s anxiety. Wow. I wonder how much longer I�ll look young enough for handsome young boys to want to take me on a date? Will I be Demi Moore and find my Ashton Kutcher? Conversely, will older men finally stop treating me like a baby and realize that I am all growed up? Or, shock of shocks, will men my own age stop being retarded? (�Retarded� is short-hand for damaged, sad, in-a-shell, or in-denial-of-aging and therefore wanting-something-younger-than-me.) And then there�s women, of course. Lately it seems like I�m straight, but not for any reason.

Sir Mix-a-Lot reference of the day: My friend Paul wrote a review of a BBQ place in NYC recently, and the title he proposed is �I Like Pig Butts and I Cannot Lie.� The dumb-ass editor rejected his proposal. Paul! I love you!

11:28 a.m. - February 08, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me