is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Part-time Vampire.

Part-time Vampire.

Last night, just as I was finishing up the �Things that keep me awake, Things that keep me from sleeping� entry, circa 2 am, the phone rang. It was a drunk rock star. At about the same moment Evany started instant messaging me, asking about something. I wrote back �hold, on phone,� and then �drunk rock star.� And she responded, �Oh, THE USUAL. Hahaha.� For some reason I know people who make their living that way, and they know that I�m awake when most people aren�t.

So then I found myself having a semi-insane (and also slightly brilliant ill-adjusted) hour long conversation about a very large array of topics, including: who is better at greek and latin?; in what fictional work will I find the all-important monkey demon?; a fictional contest between a jock and a nerd for who gets to talk to teacher; Pittsfield; Jim Shepard; being the recording engineer for a Shakespeare reading; and making plans for the next day. During the conversation I was also often expected to understand questions and statements phrased in German and French. Luckily, I passed most tests. I was 100% certain that the plans being made would not be remembered the next day, but, even though half the things established during the conversation were forgotten within five minutes, the next day, the plans were remembered. Perhaps every drunk rock star needs that skill: to remember in the morning what was forgotten the evening before. But then again, such a skill would often be a curse, would it not?

At about 2:45 I insisted that it was time for sleeping, and hung up the phone. And then, when I turned off the lights, the house was filled with a luminous magical glow! The moon was full, and so it, shining on the snow, made everything seem blue and somewhat day-like and beautiful. So I walked around to all of my nine windows and marveled at the prettiness of it all, and then opened up the storm window of one of them to try to get some LOMO shots of the moonlight shadows of trees on the snow. Let me tell you, the moon on the breast of the new fallen snow gave the luster of midday to objects below! That�s right, I�m still saving Christmas.

And I�m still a part-time vampire, apparently. It�s 12:30am and I am currently: writing this diary entry; dying some blonde streaks into my way-too-long dark roots; rolling out a tart crust so it can chill over night for the almond-chocolate tart for Peter and Alison�s party tomorrow; planning the next two installments to the paint-by-number series; signing up for all this month�s giveaways in Lucky magazine. And I�m just not tired.

Plus, today has been one long and impressive procrastinathon. I am doing everything within my power not to write the paper called �Risk and the Rule of Law.� Though I did, finally, read a section of the book that I have to use for the writing, and that reading, at least, reminded me that I have some things to say that aren�t dreadfully boring, so I�m hoping that soon, very soon, some writing will commence.

I just listened to this song by The Morning Line nine times in a row. The other really good song is Staten Island. And now I am listening to Roxy Music, Avalon, and laughing. I mean, it is so very clear why anyone who really likes or liked early Bryan Ferry or Roxy Music would be disappointed or outraged by this album, but if you divorce it from all that, it�s just the perfect early �80s album. Plus all the songs are so overdetermined for me with all the things that happened while they were playing at that time in my life. And with that I bid you goodnight, though I suspect there will be no sleeping here quite yet.

12:40 a.m. - February 25, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me