is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Job News, Meals I Have Eaten, Hitch, and Evidence that Heidi�s Right Eye Is Not Getting Smaller.

Job News, Meals I Have Eaten, Hitch, and Evidence that Heidi�s Right Eye Is Not Getting Smaller.

Well, I got offered the 2-year post-doc at Haverford, which is very exciting. I am 90% sure that I will take it. Right now I am just considering my options and trying to figure out what to do. I already canceled one of the two job interviews I have coming up. So I�ll keep you posted about final decisions, to be made within the week. The good news is that I do have a job for at least the next two years!

The night before I got the news I was borderline-yelling at my friend John on the phone because he was trying to make me talk about the future. It was a miscommunication� he couldn�t tell that when the future is uncertain I handle my anxiety by not projecting plans into the future, whereas he likes to talk about the uncertainties, and so he was trying to help me by having me talk about the uncertainties, and instead he ended up having a phone conversation with Uppity Jill. Oh well. In retrospect it is funny.

Regarding my gainful employment outside of the pioneer valley and Amherst College, my cousin Adam wrote right away to inform me that I should now feel very free to date my students! (Ha.)

On Friday night Nasser took me out to Monkey Bar to celebrate. (Him: I�m paying. Me: But I was going to pay! Him: The laws of equity say no. Me: Where are we going? Him: The only place in town. (AKA the only place in town that simulates an urban dining experience, Monkey Bar).) We had cosmopolitans and white wine and sesame-encrusted seared ahi tuna with wasabi mashed potatoes and asparagus. That�s right, we both had all those things, and nothing more. It was fun. At first we concentrated on job market advice, etc., but then we quickly moved on to more exciting and entertaining topics, including dating (mostly the lack thereof), love, poetry, and normal things like �what is going to happen?!�.

Saturday night Tom had a dinner party and that was fun. I made a cake for Jimmy�s birthday, even though Jimmy�s birthday was a month ago. Nasser made some amazing nine-spice chicken (and tofu, for me). Peter and Alison made a surprisingly (in a good way) spicy carrot soup. And Tom roasted some marinated asparagus on the outdoor grill, even though it was raining. This was especially exciting because he had marinated the asparagus in olive oil which caused four-foot flames to emerge from the grill, and a very funny look to emerge from Tom�s face. Then we all sat around laughing and drinking wine and eating food. At one point Hans Blix (the cat, not the U.N. weapons inspector) called Peter and Alison�s daughter Sophie on her fake telephone! I have a very fancy feline, it seems. Sophie said that Hans Blix said �meow,� but I suspect he was telling her a long story of woe about how I leave him alone all the time.

I was supposed to have dinner with Chris and Linda this weekend, too, but we never ended up having any of the same hours free. Two out of three projected dinner dates were had, and that is about as much as a girl can expect out of a weekend in Amherst, so I�m not complaining.

Oh, and this week I had a real need for some Bad Movie Action, so I sent a list of Bad Movies I was willing to see to Alison and to Nasser. And today Alison went to see Hitch with me! I was leaning toward Beautyshop or Guess Who, but you know how delicate these negotiations are. Anyway, Hitch is exactly what it is. Alison and I found ourselves laughing at some of the parts that weren�t supposed to be funny. As we walked out of the theater she said, �I can feel myself forgetting everything that happened in that movie.� You know what they say�. sometimes the faculty of memory is kind. Alison also said, �Will Smith isn�t as cute as he thinks he is.� At least I think that�s what she said. It�s possible that she didn�t phrase it in such a way that she actually claimed the ability to know how cute Will Smith thinks he is. I can't imagine Alison making such a claim, although it amuses me to consider what unknown psychic connection might exist between Alison and Will Smith. Clearly I am taking my faulty memory of what she said and RUNNING WITH IT. Anyway, you get the idea. Will Smith, cute, but maybe not THAT cute? That pretty much sums up the film.

TV: The male doctor who was hired because ladies clearly are supposed to think he is hott, on that new show Grey's Anatomy, has been using a sidekick openly in the hospital.

Oh, and now, as promised, I offer to you Evidence that Heidi�s Right Eye Is Not Getting Smaller.

Here is a photo taken recently, at The Tunnel Bar in Northampton. As you can see, Heidi�s right eye is smaller than her left, and she used the photo as evidence that over the years her right eye is getting smaller, but only in photos.

Aha! But here�s a photo from roughly 1995! Right eye also small in photo! Disastrous eye shrinkage averted!


12:04 a.m. - April 04, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me