is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Giant Dinosaur Insect Version of a Flying Wild Turkey! And other evidence that I have gone Mad.

Giant Dinosaur Insect Version of a Flying Wild Turkey! And other evidence that I have gone Mad.

Yesterday, in the hot hot heat of a strange season wherein the grass is green but the trees all look dead because they have no leaves, and it is suddenly 80 degrees and a random daffodil springs up in your front yard, Hans Blix (TCNTUNWI) and I were attacked by a giant dinosaur insect version of a wild turkey!

OK, so we weren�t really attacked, and neither of us can verify what the thing actually was, though we were both very relieved once we figured out what The Noise was and then ascertained that its producer was safely on The Other Side of the window screen.

First there was an odd and menacing humming sound, way too low-pitched to be the sound of any insect I�d ever want to see. It seemed to be coming from everywhere at once. If I weren�t so alarmed I would have laughed because both Hans Blix and I immediately assumed that funny slightly crouched and listening stance of someone who is alarmed and uncertain as to what is so alarming. Then, out of the corners of our respective eyes, we caught a glimpse of Some Huge Thing hovering outside the screen, looking at us, perhaps plotting its next move. We both jumped back. Then it flew away.

It occurred to me hours later that maybe it was a big black hummingbird? Except that I�ve heard hummingbirds before and they don�t sound like giant dinosaur insect versions of flying wild turkeys. No they do not.

In other news, I recommend that none of you attempt to consume the water-based beverage being marketed as Fruit-2-0. During a shopping jaunt at Target in beautiful Hadley, Massachusetts, I was possessed of a mighty thirst, and thought some fruity water might just do the trick (of quenching my thirst. If only the trick I had been seeking to have done involved disgusting my taste buds, well then, Fruit-2-0 would have done the trick). When I was in London however many summers ago that was, I became very fond of the Volvic waters with fruit flavor, like lemon or strawberry. Man, was that strawberry Volvic tasty! (Evany would make a joke right now, I think.) It was quench-tastic! Fruit-2-0, however, tastes like fruit-flavored burning plastic. Do Not Attempt.

Tale of Two Rockstars. I have known both David Lowery and Chris Collingwood for a long time. David I have known for more than fifteen years, Chris more than ten. But they do not know each other. And recently, in the space of a couple of weeks, this happened. I saw David and at some point mentioned Chris, and David�s all �you know that guy?!� I was quite certain that he knew full well that I know that guy, but apparently he did not. Then I saw Chris, and mentioned that I had been hanging out with David, and Chris is all, �you know that guy?!� I was quite certain that he knew full well that I know that guy, but apparently he did not.

You know, if that thing outside my window really was a giant dinosaur insect version of a flying wild turkey, I�m thinking maybe it was kind of cute? I mean, can you imagine it? A wild turkey, given the gift of flight, and tiny? If only we could do something about the menacing buzz and the Johnny-Cash-Black outfit. I think GDIVOFWT should leave a constant trail of sparkles and make the noise of wooden windchimes. That would solve his (or her) public relations problems.

12:30 a.m. - April 22, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me