is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bed Positions. Standards. Nothing is Free.

Bed Positions. Standards. Nothing is Free.

Here's Hans Blix in one of his favorite Bed Positions.

Today we barbequed at Marco�s house while getting our photos taken in various sleeping positions in his bed. He drilled a camera into the ceiling with a remote control attachment. Evany is working on a book on sleeping positions (for couples) and what they mean, so she gathered a few people together to put on their PJs and get posed. Much hilarity ensued. An illustrator will use the photos as models for drawings to illustrate the book. After having modeled various poses together (for instance: �the pinchy koala� and �paper dolls�) at one point both Heidi and I were in the living room in little nightgowns playing with Marco�s dog Daisy, and Marco came in and declared that he was happy that KISS was playing on the stereo just then.

I know some of you are wondering, so I might as well make it known: when you�re single, apparently your sleeping positions are meaningless. No one wants to know!

We also ate lots of food and sat in the sun. And I put the new-old SMENA camera, which just arrived from Igor in the Ukraine, to work for the first time today.

On Friday night, Evany, Marco, Caroleen, Jeff and I went to see Revenge of the Sith on the IMAX screen at the Metreon. Man, was there some bad, wooden dialogue in that movie or what? However, I suppose the moment when Darth Vader gets the mask installed on his head and we hear the breathing for the first time made the whole thing worth seeing. And it was good to see the action shots and the special effects on the HUGE screen. Plus, there were lots of San Francisco geeks in costume in the audience. We had twenty girls dressed like Princess Leia sitting across the second row. After they sat down, Evany yelled, �Hey Leia!� (ha). Plus Caroleen bought a huge vat of popcorn and let me shove a lot of it into my face. And Evany smuggled in some yummy cookies and meringues from Tartine, and Marco bought a bag of Riesen (which prompted a whole slew of bad jokes, about how Jeff was un-riesenable, or how Caroleen needed someone to give her a riesen to�. Etc.) Halfway through the film the theater went dark because the film broke down. So some local Jedi Knights got up and had a light-saber battle for us. After the announcement that the film would indeed continue, we decided it would have been better if the projectionist had Yoda�d his request for our patience by saying �Patient, please be� instead of whatever normal grammatical form it was he used. In sum: Not Such A Good Movie, though it might please some for Sentimental Reasons.

I enjoyed XXX: State of the Union more than Revenge of the Sith.

In other news, someone in my six-unit apartment building here in SF threw his or her PET away in the TRASH! The other day, Colleen took out the trash in our accustomed way here, which means she threw the bags down two stories into the waiting receptacle at the bottom of the stairs. Only this time she noticed that her kerplummeting trash bag made some garbage stuffs fly out of the can and onto the ground, so she went down to the trash area to TCB. And what did she find there when she reached garbage level? A dead and rotting cockatiel laying on the ground next to the garbage can! Someone�s bird died and he or she just threw it in the trash without even swaddling it in a towel or concealing it in a bag!

Speaking of low standards, at my birthday dinner Liz and Heidi were talking about meeting guys, and Liz said, �It�s always really easy for girls to get laid.� And I was all, �?� And so she added, �All you have to do is lower your standards.� Ha. I do not think it is worth it, my friends. But there are many ways to look at it as an issue. As many ways as there are positions for sleeping.


Addendum: Nothing is Free. I lost my free wireless. So now I'm at a cafe on the Surf and Sip network looking for a dial-up ISP. Heidi called as I was on my way out the door wanting to come over and hang out but I told her I had to TCB pronto. So we had this conversation.
J: I lost my free wireless!
H: What?!
J: Someone got wise and password protected his or her network!
H: That is downright un-neighborly.
J: Well, maybe it is un-neighborly to use someone's wireless?
H: I'm not sure about that.
J: I think the ethics of all this are not yet established.

So here I am. I think I will ab-use AOL for free for 50 days and then see what happens next. Plus this whole cafe thing isn't so bad. It's just that I tend to write diary entries and get bill-paying done in the middle of the night, when internet cafes are not open. Plus, I like to be in my pajamas. Even when I'm at Marco's house.

2:51 p.m. - May 30, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me