is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Las Vegas Nights.

Las Vegas Nights.

Tonight a bunch of my friends went to the strip to do what people do when they are in Las Vegas. I stayed in, in my luxurious hotel room, and ordered room service and watched TV. Because I am commenting on the papers of three scholars tomorrow morning at 8 freaking 15 in the a.m. And I am responsible. Here is a photo of how far I am from the strip right now. The strip is represented by the tiny lights you can see through the concrete railing to my balcony.

Today I went to a bunch of panels, and then felt uppity--simultaneously too tired and too fidgety to deal with panels and discussions--perhaps because I didn�t do yoga this morning, perhaps because of the progesterone poisoning, or the fake air of the hotel. So I skipped an afternoon panel and went to the freaking pool. It was good. I swam some laps, and sat in the shade for awhile. In order to make use of the small amount of shade there was, I had to make myself welcome between a fully clothed old man and a tiny skinny teenaged boy reading a book. Everyone else was in the sun working on their leather skin look. Here�s a photo of about one third of the U-shaped pool, taken from the shade.

And here�s a photo of another random fire hydrant somewhere between the pool and the "spa tower" which is the part of the hotel I'm staying in.... this is a huge place. I like the way this random fire hydrant looks like it bled its paint into the soil and then the paint grew up through the flowers.

Tomorrow I wake up at the crack of dawn to chair a panel. Then my friend Adam is supposed to drive me to either the Hoover Dam or Red Rock Canyon. I�m sure at some point I�ll attend some more panels. And then a bunch of us are supposed to go to the strip. I am trying to talk everyone into attempting to get in to the dance club on the roof of the Rio�..

10:22 p.m. - June 03, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me