is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Has Anything Happened In Your Cupcake Lately?

Has Anything Happened In Your Cupcake Lately?

We all bought Evany a Kitchenaid mixer for her birthday, and she was surprised and happy. On Sunday we hung out at Jeff and Caroleen�s and ate cupcakes and nachos (why is everything Caroleen does so GOOD?!) and watched E open her presents, and looked through that stack of old photos I accumulated last week. Much hilarity ensued. Apparently Heidi had consumed a Gin and Tonic prior to her arrival!

Earlier on Sunday I took the ferry from SF to Vallejo to see my dad for Father�s Day. I woke up extra early so I could get to the Ferry Building with enough time to do some shopping, as the Ferry Building is full of overpriced but yummy foodstores. I did manage to get the bottle of vanilla extract I needed, but Recchiuti, home to what I've declared The Best Brownie In The World for some reason does not open until 10am on Sundays, and my ferry was at 9:55. So sad! My intent was to buy enough brownies for my sister (whom I saw at my dad�s) and for Evany and the other chocolate-appreciating women in my life. (Men don�t tend to appreciate chocolate as much for some reason? It�s like a Cathy cartoon, that.)

Like my dad. He doesn�t care about chocolate at all, really. He likes peanut butter, and therefore cannot allow himself to buy any but the smallest of jars of it, for it is, apparently, a DANGEROUS SUBSTANCE.

However, Marco did say, upon biting into one of my �famous� chocolate cupcakes with cinnamon frosting, �Oh. My. God�. Wait�. Something is HAPPENING in my cupcake! � What is it?!� So he does appreciate chocolate.

The cupcakes are spiced with hot cinnamon and cayenne, and then there�s the cinnamon frosting. I am the baker, and yet I, too, have to exclaim about how good they are everytime I eat one of those cupckaes. Since I�d been in Amherst without the cupcake pans all this time I had forgotten, so it surprised me when I told Evany I would make her whatever she wanted for her birthday cake and she requested the cupcakes. Now I remember. Something is HAPPENING in those cupcakes.

I made a special extra single-layer 8� cake version for Evany to take home with her. Last night she AIMed me to say that she had to physically stop herself from eating more than one piece. I tried to picture that, and in my mind it resembled one of the physical comedy moments that Kramer constantly undergoes in a Seinfeld episode. I�m guessing that it actually was not that dramatic, however.

Speaking of chocolate, Evany is having Choctails this Saturday for her birthday, a cocktail and chocolate-tasting party. I�m either going to make the chocolate tart that is almost too rich for eating, or I�ll make the flourless chocolate cake with bittersweet chocolate-laced meringue-top. Depends on how much time I have. And then there is Marco�s BBQ on Sunday, for which I also am going to bake something, as yet undetermined.

My mom took me shopping a week ago for my birthday, and bought me, among other things, a great new BCBG skirt. I learned something about this skirt when I was carrying the wrapped Kitchenaid Mixer to Colleen�s car (Horses: See Awesome!) on Sunday. Not only is it billowy, so it is susceptible to being blown up by the wind, but it also has a very long slit in the front that isn�t noticeable, because of its billowy-ness, until such blowing happens. So there I was walking down 16th Street carrying a heavy wrapped box and giving all passers-by a full leg view. Probably more funny than exciting for all involved. I am thinking of sewing the slit up in some way, since I do plan on wearing that skirt for teaching.

OMG! So Recchiuti was closed when I wanted them to be open, but I did pick up a catalog from their front door and read it while waiting for the ferry. And, next time I end up with some rich and generous suitor, I really hope that said suitor buys for me the $425 12-month membership to Club Recchiuti, which would mean that every month I would receive some fabulous form of chocolate in the mail. January is the freaking brownies, and July is the Smores Kit that I also bought for Evany for her birthday. (Apparently the last time I took the 9:55 ferry to see my Dad it was a Saturday, because that�s when I bought the Smores Kit.) Every month looks to be an offering of chocolatey treasures!

My current dating history and prospects are so dismal as to render this newest fantasy of mine almost exciting enough to live on. Ha. Turn that frownie into a brownie!

Oh, and, speaking of exciting, on Friday, Evany, Marco, Caroleen, Adrienne, Jeff and I went to see BATMAN BEGINS. We saw the special IMAX print, which was GREAT. Except that some of the fighting scenes were so action-packed and confusing (because of Batman�s use of darkness and deceptive movement) that on the huge screen the eye simply couldn�t take it in all at once. Maybe it would be the same on any size screen, given the nature of the movements. I want to go see the movie again, so much did I enjoy it, with its dark drama and its thematization of the different kinds of "dark knight" one might be, and the choices entailed. And I am torn between going to the IMAX version again� because I can� or trying the normal print to see if it seems different.

We got there early enough to get center seats, so there was time for talking and eating beforehand. Adrienne and I bored Jeff for awhile with our tales of years of Christian-Bale love. It�s OK, because then we let him talk about surfing. Apparently sharks are attracted not only by blood, but also by urine, which is a problem when you are out in the cold cold Pacific waves in a wetsuit without a restroom.

4:55 p.m. - June 21, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me