is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jobs. Friends. My Sunglasses on TV.

Jobs. Friends. My Sunglasses on TV.

Back when I said that I was moving to a place where I don�t know anyone, I was told after the fact that I made some people feel like chopped liver. So allow me to clarify. I am moving to a place where I will not have any built-in allies in my working situation. There are very nice people there, but no one I�ve met for more than an hour or so. Lucky for me, I will have a couple of old friends living in Philadelphia already, and another who will be working in Philadelphia though he lives in Brooklyn. So that�s good, and I�m looking forward to being shown around town, and to having small cocktail parties. I�m just aware that, for the first time in my academic life, I will be going into a situation where I know no one. When I went to Amherst I had four friends there already, and three of them were in the department I was joining. At Haverford I�ll be a singular Fellow of a Humanities Center teaching in a Philosophy department of which I am not an official member. I�m not expecting that this will be horrible. I�m just saying that I have no idea what it will be like. And sometimes that causes me anxiety. That�s all.

Oh, one thing that happened on the date was that I told a bunch of stories about things I had done recently, and all of them involved me being out with either Evany&Marco or Caroleen&Jeff. So Date said to me, �So, you�re a perpetual third wheel!� And I�m all, �That makes me feel SEXY.� We both laughed. Because it was funny.

So last night I went to see Charlie and the Chocolate Factory with Evany&Marco AND Caroleen&Jeff. WE ARE ALL FRIENDS.

Did you see my sunglasses on Chris on the Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson last Friday night? I didn�t, because I was at Stephen�s house with a bunch of guys, but I just realized today when I wanted to watch TV that I had programmed my VCR to tape the show. So I saw my sunglasses on TV. They looked cute. I took a photo for you. Apparently I have free time.

This photo is funny because it looks fine at first but then if you look again it looks like Chris has huge googly cookie monster eyes on under my glasses. And you all know how I feel about Rocking Cookie Monsters!

This is turning out to be a busy week. I have things to do every night and most days. Most of them fun. More later.

Next Wednesday Evany, Jeff, Caroleen and I are off to White Wolf at Yosemite for SIX DAYS! Yay.

12:06 a.m. - July 21, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me