is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Miracle! ...More Later, but for now just this.

More Later, but for now just this:

It would seem that there are many more stars up high on a mountain without electricity than there are down here in a city full of lights. But they're here, too. We just can't see them. So many compromises made without any will or moment of decision.

We had a great time. And today my mailman hugged and kissed me because he's sad that I'm moving. So, upcoming: an entry about Yosemite. In the meantime here's last year's Yosemite entry. Also: an entry about Jill's neighborhood.

And also: Miracle!

A couple of years ago I had a ring made for me custom by Jeanine Payer, one of my favorite jewelry designers (though I am currently a bit obsessed with Linea Nervenkitt). The ring was sterling silver, a wide shiny band with a raised glassed-in area containing a tiny photo of a baby with gold angel wings. The band was inscribed: "it is love, not reason, that is stronger than death." I paid quite a bit for that ring. Then I lost it. I looked for it EVERYWHERE, for WEEKS, MONTHS even. You know how it goes: I retraced my steps, agonized over all my actions, called everyone whose houses I had visited recently and made them search under couches etc. Never found it.

UNTIL TODAY.

I was packing up the backroom storage area today, and was emptying out the box of twinkly lights that I put up when I have the large parties, and right before I was going to take the box out to the garbage, I noticed that the ring was right there, in the bottom. It's tarnished, and a bit beat up, and it is now too big for my finger? As if I had lost weight in my hand somehow? But it has returned to me! And how did it get into that box? I shined it up today, and it looks beautiful. Now I should see if I can get it re-sized and the inscription restored where the scratches are. But man, I really thought it was gone forever. I felt so blessed with luck today. Luck! It actually felt as if clouds parted and the sun shone through the roof of my storage room.

10:40 p.m. - August 02, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me