is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not At All According To Plan.

Well, at least this morning went smoothly. Despite feeling slightly hungover after having only two glasses of wine with John last night, I woke up, had room service, walked to Joseph Smith house, loaded up my car. Everything that I hadn�t packed for UPS did fit in my car, except one box, which Adam, gentleman that he is, offered to take to UPS for me and send separately. The UPS man showed up on time and took away my other 14 boxes without even grumbling about the humidity. He is a lovely man. I was dripping sweat everywhere. I didn�t feel sad or nostalgic about leaving my wild-turkey haven. I had lunch with Martha, and that was lots of fun. She began lunch by sitting on a wet chair so that it looked like she peed her pants, and I laughed and said that my ass looked the same, and I hadn�t even sat on a wet chair. That�s how humidly sweat-inducing it is here.

Then I got on the road and immediately hit strange traffic. I cursed Route 9, as I always do. Oh, damn you, Route 9! Then, after being in the car only one hour, I began to feel very very tired indeed. Only five hours to go! I wasn�t even outside of Masschusetts yet! So I had a coke. That worked for about an hour. Then I said I would allow myself to have a huge sugary latte if I could find a coffee place on the highway. (Jill can�t drink coffee because it does bad bad things to her kidneys.) Never did. Had a milkshake instead? And then intestinal craziness. While driving.

Finally showed up at Haverford College, after Bronx traffic jam, around 8 pm only to find that THERE ARE NO KEYS WAITING FOR ME HERE. I was supposed to have 1) keys to my apartment so I could empty the stuff out of my full-to-the-brim car, 2) keys to the campus center so I could get in and out, and 3) a key to my guestroom at the campus center. I had nothing. The security people helped, but there wasn�t much they could do. They managed to get me a guest room, but I can�t leave the building to get food because then I won�t be able to get back in. In addition, my car is parked outside full of valuables. Also, I have to move it by 8am or it will be towed. And I have no place to move it to. Etc. Plus I was really really looking forward to sleeping in for the first time in what seems forever. Not only that, but they have put me in the same room I was in at first when I had my job interview here, the room FULL OF UNEXPLAINABLE MACHINE NOISE. You know how crazy I get when I can�t drown out machine noise. And then! I don�t have earplugs with me! That never happens! I have a jar of earplugs, along with many valuables, in the car outside, but if I go get them I won�t be able to get back into the building. Also, I just got a message, a message that was left for me much earlier but which T-Mobile decided to delay to make my life just a little but more �funny,� that MY STUFF IS ARRIVING AT MY APARTMENT TOMORROW MORNING. I don�t have keys.

About fifteen minutes ago I was sure I was going to cry in front of the whole security team. Luckily I remembered that I had two yogurts in the car so at least I was able to quell the starving-to-death part of my incipient crying hysteria. And since I have to wake up at 7 am tomorrow to try to TCB in time to get my stuff into my new apartment, I guess it�s OK that I have already eaten tomorrow�s breakfast. Tomorrow will probably be better, don�t you think?

6:26 p.m. - August 15, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me