is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On The Many Ways Not To Clean House.

Yesterday I had lunch with Dad at our lunch place, Burger Joint. The guy there already knows what we are going to order. It was fun to hang out with Pops. Then I took BART to Oakland to meet Jonathan for a movie. I exited the 19th Street station and called him, and told him I�d be sitting on a bench reading a book until he had time to pick me up. Not too much time had passed when my cellphone rang and it was Jonathan. He�s all: �Where are you?� I�m like: �I�m on Broadway, near 19th, on a bench in front of a bank. Where are you?� �I�m on Broadway near 19th.� �I don�t see you! I�m standing up. Now I�m walking toward the corner of Broadway and 19th.� �Wait! Where are you? I�m in a white car across from the bank.� �Dude, that is totally where I am. Where are you?� �I�m in my car, which, now I see you, you are WALKING AWAY FROM.� �Oh. There you are. I�m talking to you on my cellphone and pointing at you and walking toward the crosswalk.� �I�m talking on my cellphone and pointing at you, too!�

Then we saw The Aristocrats. Man. What an idea.

Later that evening, after having taught me how to be an adult in his home (hey! get your mind out of the gutter. He taught me how to arm and disarm his alarm system, and make the garage door go up and down, and use the computer network, etc., because I will on occasion be staying in his house and driving his car while he is away!), Jonathan drove me over to Halliday�s and then Halliday drove me to the city, where we ate yummy Pakistani food at Pakwan. Halliday and I talked about love and emotions and how crazy it all is. The two years from which he and I are just emerging have been very different, but nonetheless that time span left us both feeling a bit unable to judge our own ability to judge these things. How�s that for a convoluted and nonrevealing statement? Then we met up with Josh and Ute, and talked about language at Dalva until the music got too loud.

I got no cleaning done at all yesterday. I was out of the house for 12 hours. Came home, read a chapter or two of John Henry Days, and went to bed.

Today I woke up knowing I really had to clean the house, so of course I called Sunny and asked her to go out to lunch with me. Colleen lent me the Horses: See Awesome-mobile to take our huge mass of stuff to Goodwill. I loaded up the car and dropped the shit off and drove up to Sunny�s, then we went and had grub at Levon�s diner. Levon came and sat with us for awhile and that was fun. Topics included: why is it impossible to find a recording of the Bad Mama Jama song? Then Sunny and I hung around and talked about romancing people, which then segued into what it is like to kiss someone with whom you have no chemistry at all. Oh, how sad it is when that happens. We told funny stories about it. Then Caroleen IM�d both of us at once with questions about wedding planning because

JEFF AND CAROLEEN ARE GETTING MARRIED ON SATURDAY.

So we leapt into action and went and picked her cute self up. We drove up to Sunny�s, where Caroleen took clippings of Jasmine and Oak and Rose from the yard. Then Sunny rubbed a VERY VERY cold thing on my face after giving me a glass of very tasty Sauvignon Blanc. I was all �WHAT IS THAT VERY VERY COLD THING AND WHY IS IT ON MY FACE!� And, really, why does it smell like a dog�s tongue?

Turns out, it�s a facial treatment made of stem cells from cows! What?! And apparently it costs like $300 to get it at a fancy facial place, but there I was �getting it� on Sunny�s back porch. I�m not sure what my position is on all this, but I am a human experiment, so OK. Anyway, I had to leave it on my face until it hardened into a strange tight-feeling mask. Then I washed it off. And, I kid you not, I LOOK YOUNGER. Very strange.

Sunny�s hot hot girlfriend is an aesthetician. So she does this stuff for a living. That explains why someone who doesn�t even wear sunscreen would have such a thing in her freezer.

Then, around 3, I could no longer deny it. I had to go home and do some freaking house cleaning. I drove Caroleen back to her house with the plant clippings and the five vases that I did not move to Pennsylvania. Then I returned to the empty house and cleaned the oven, scrubbed the kitchen floor, carried trash and recycling and old wood down into the basement. Etc.

8:06 p.m. - August 25, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me