is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On How SheenyKeeny Would Not Fit Into The Suitcase.

On How SheenyKeeny Would Not Fit Into The Suitcase.

So it�s my last morning in San Francisco, you know, back on August whatever. I wake up, pack up my stuff, and realize that a few things just are not going to fit into my luggage. But these aren�t things I can just throw away or abandon on the street for a new owner to find and take home. These are things I need to keep. A perfectly good yoga mat, and some toiletries, and big pink stuffed animal dolphin, they just won�t fit, no matter how much stuffing and suitcase lid-sitting a person would try.

So when Caroleen shows up to drive me to the airport, I hand her a garbage bag full of these and other things and say, �Can you store this for me until October?�. She looks in the bag, smiles, and says, �Sure.�

After we�ve been on the road awhile, she says, �Where is the pink dolphin from?� And I tell her that my sister bought it for me. So she says, �It has a name, doesn�t it?� She asks this because, when we were all in Yosemite I had the pink stuffed animal duck with me, and I told the story about how Natalie had a yellow stuffed animal duck called Emily Duckinson which took a train trip with us across the country. At some point Natalie bought me my own duck, but mine is pink instead of yellow, and so she informed me that its name is Pinkemily. I said, �Oh. Pink Emily!� And she said, �No, Pinkemily. One word.� So the duck�s name is Pinkemily Oneword Duckinson.

It runs in the family.

Anyway, at some sad point in my life, I think I was going through a break-up or something, Natalie bought me the pink dolphin as a �get well� present. (Natalie really likes pink. And Hello Kitty.) Then she informed me that the dolphin�s name is SheenyKeeny. And I�m all, �No. I think its name is Dolph.� And she�s all. �NO. It�s SHEENYKEENY.�

So I related that story to Caroleen. And a few days later, as I was driving around eastern Pennsylvania looking for IKEA, I got an IM from Caroleen, and all it said was:
Caroleen: sheeny is safe up in the sleeping loft.
Caroleen: don�t worry.

Right now Natalie is yelling in vain somewhere about how the dolphin�s name is really Shinikini.

So, yeah, I like stuffed animals. You wouldn�t guess that, would you? Tell me you would not, OK? But you end up learning it sooner or later.

David-from-LA once bought me a stuffed animal snake to sleep with. (Duh. Get it?) Then I went out and bought a stuffed animal eagle to go with it, so I could sleep with the plush (not plushie, OK?) version of Zarathustra�s animals.

And, when Evany and I drove across the country, she saw me eying the cute stuffed bison at the Yellowstone gift shop, and then she saw me decide not to buy it because of my self-awareness of how crazy it is to love stuffed animals. The next morning when she came back from getting her latte, her purse was strangely full. And then she�s all, �Hey, what�s this in here, oh my god! It�s a STUFFED BISON!� Ha. And so Buffy the Bison joined the menagerie.

There�s also a white tiger, a rhinoceros and a moose.

So that show called Bones, starring Angel: not so good. The writing limps along, there is no chemistry between those who are supposed to have chemistry, and the part of the plot that might be interesting if left as a subtlety is used as a hammer with which the viewer�s head is hit over and over again. The woman who is a scientist has a hard time with human connections! She is more comfortable with bones! Of dead things! She should take the risk of showing something of herself to someone sometime! But she is haunted by a traumatic past! Which she wants to fix by being a scientist! In turn, the guy who used to be an army sniper now wants to find murderers! To make up for his murderous past! He is full of remorse and emotion! Maybe they should sex it up! Except that their chemistry is such that any attempt at imagining them sexing it up makes one think of all the bad-awkward (as opposed to good-awkward, and there is such a thing) romantic encounters one has ever had. It qualifies as a show that will be viewed again by me only if I happen to be home, desperately in need of braindead time, and nothing else is on.

Viewing House tonight, I was reminded that the music for the show�s credit sequence is taken from the Massive Attack Mezzanine album. And since I mentioned both of those things in yesterday�s entry, that struck me as funny. LL Cool J didn�t have much time for looking sexy, what with the yellowed prison teeth and peeing his pants with bloody urine, but I do tend to enjoy the performance of the lead guy as grumpy unkind over-the-top misanthropic drug-addicted doctor.

Neither of tonight�s shows did anything exceptional.

Today I went to another reception for new or interim faculty. I have been very very received here, what with all the receptions. But it�s nice. It cuts down on the subtle hazing that I joked about last year in Amherst, when I kept not knowing things that I was supposed to know because no one had thought to tell me any of the known facts. Lots of people here have done a good job of welcoming me, and I appreciate it.

After the lunch reception, I came home, wrote lectures for tomorrow and Friday, and then I made some art. I made a new headboard for my bed, and I made an exposed heart art. It�s just a square mirror with a graphic outline of a heart on it. Not a heart like on a valentine but a heart like the one in your chest. You look at yourself and you see the exposed heart.

10:49 p.m. - September 13, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me