is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Won!

I sent my dad a photo of this silly nametag I had to wear at a recent event, with the caption, �I WON!� and he wrote back with this hilarious observation: �A Blue Ribbon. I understand that a Blue Ribbon and $3 will get you a latte at Starbucks�� HA! That made me laugh quite a bit.

I responded that that seems to be the cash value of many of my achievements. But of course cash is not the only value.

Update on being kitty corner from evil. After all the months of construction that seemed to construct nothing more than reasons for construction workers to drive around backwards in trucks, beeping, the Amityville Horror house just across the way has turned into a bank! It is still the same house, but now there is a lit-up sign under its right chimney-side evil-eye, with an ATM just below it, both emblazoned with �Wachovia.� My friend T and I used to laugh about that as a bank name, since both of us had taken out undergraduate student loans from a bank in Pleasant Hill, CA, that had in turn been taken over by Wachovia. He once said to me, �Don�t you think it�s creepy, to name a bank �Watch Ova Ya,� especially when it�s a bank that�s always calling you about your bills?!� And I�m all, well, obviously you have never called customer service there, because then you�d realize that it�s pronounced �WALK Ova Ya,� which is much, much worse!� And so on.

So if I�m kitty corner from evil, it�s just the everyday evil of the banking industry, threatening to walk all ova me. I�ve already been tread upon, as you well know.

Another update: I am getting out from under that particular evil with the co-signing help of a beneficent family member. I got out from under being walked all ova years ago, and now to another bank I will soon say, �Chase this!�. It doesn�t get rid of my massive debt, but it does release me from an insane interest percentage rate, and helps keep me on my original debt-reduction plan schedule.

Today I saw a lovely sunset (at like 4:30 pm, dammit) over my suburban window-scene. Ah, the pink fluffy clouds against the light blue but swiftly darkening sky, as a backdrop to Pea in the Pod, Wachovia-Amityville, and �Haverford Place,� home of cigars, �gifts for men,� Talbots, a strange chotchke store (aka �gifts for women�), and a store selling furs. �Haverford Place,� which has a sign in an objectionable cursive font, at nighttime looks like �Haverford lace� because of some illumination problems it is undergoing at present. It also has a huge Christmas tree set up. Already.

Heidi would be the first to tell you that I get into the Xmas Spirit early in the season. I start singing carols, much to the dismay of all around me, and I bake lots of cookies and things. So today when I caught myself singing some dumb holiday song I stopped and asked myself where it came from. Then I realized it had come from outside. Not only do I see a Christmas Tree every time I look outside, but the street lamps all have huge lit-up snowflakes on them. They are cute and everything, but they also seem faintly ridiculous given that there is no snow, and today was t-shirt and jeans weather.

Not that I am longing for the snow to arrive. No, not at all.

In other news, I can�t find the title to my car. You know, the document that lets the world know that you own the car. You never need to have such a thing until you want to sell your car or transfer your car registration from state to state. And so we have another Annoying Development. Apparently moving has scraped away that heavy veneer of Jill-seeming-organized from my exterior to expose the swirling chaos of inattention to detail lurking beneath. What has happened to my biography titled �Undue Diligence: A Life of Jill S--�? It is slowly being unwritten by time and circumstance! Like all human achievement.

8:43 p.m. - November 15, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me