is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Songs that don�t Suck, Blogs that Do.

Songs that don�t Suck, Blogs that Do.

Before I realized I�d be selling stuff on eBay to finance buying holiday gifts for my family, I bought three new CDs and a book. It is a good thing, because they�re all perfect in different ways. All three of the CDs had to seduce me over time a bit, by which I mean I wasn�t sure I liked any of them right away but now we�re all very happy to be hanging out. John Vanderslice�s Pixel Revolt is a perfect kind of an album if you want to hear an angsty but sensitive alterna-rock boy sing things that make you think he just might be smart and interesting, in that way that is too rare. It seems to be a theme album of sorts about how to live through the loss of love and worse traumas, like terrorist attacks (he references 9/11 events). In fact I'm going to have to spend more time listening to and thinking about it before I say anything further. For now, here�s a cute song called �Letter to the East Coast�:

Being Joan Crawford at 21
Was easy
Living in New Haven in 1925
Was simple and kind

Like you and me at the start
It�s right and bright at the top
But the rook�s not to blame
For those who didn�t have an endgame

The tenements of New Haven, 2010
Spare me that, my friend
Being Joan Crawford at the end
Well that was hard

Like you and me at the start
It�s right and bright at the top
But the rook�s not to blame
For those who didn�t have an endgame

Also, a song called �Exodus Damage� with this lyric, �dance dance revolution/ is all we�re gonna get.�

Reminds me of how one of my younger h2so4 writers, whose article I was editing, had to tell me that DDR stands for Dance Dance Revolution (you know, those game machines the kids love where they have to follow the dance steps dictated by the machine) and that EVERYONE knows that. I knew what Dance Dance Revolution machines were, but they were not sufficiently part of my world experience that I immediately knew that that�s what DDR meant. Apparently I am no longer part of a certain kind of EVERYONE. It�s OK. I like my outfits just fine how they are.

Fiona Apple�s new album (the first in six years or something) has some Ella Fitzgerald things going on, which makes good use of the fact that her (Apple�s. And also at times Ella�s) orchestration tends to be a bit too fluffy for my taste. I�ve always loved her anyway (Apple. And also Ella). With this record she steps away from Jon Brion (Man Of Fluffy, but a talented composer of movie soundtracks) but keeps with the fluffy. The current more spare version coupled with some beats goes well with her personal yet universal-type lyrics, my favorite at present being �Everything good, I deem too good to be true/ Everything else is just a bore/ Everything I have to look forward to/ Has a pretty painful and very imposing before.� (Followed by �O Sailor, why�d you do it/ What�d you do that for/ Saying there�s nothing to it/ and then letting it go by the boards.�) There�s another really funny song about how when you get used to being disappointed by potential loves you can find yourself acting too quickly to dismiss someone who you realize afterwards only let you down by not disappointing you. Ha.

The third album is Ladytron�s third album. I�ve been a fan since I got their first album before it was released (because back then I was writing music reviews). I have listened to it the least so far, but I�m liking it. Perhaps I�ll have more to say later.

I�ve been amusing myself by reading the Sucklord�s blog lately. He is a friend of a friend in NYC who recently started making his thoughts public, and I for one am entertained. The first time I met him it was at Bill�s birthday party, the one when he made us all dress in a Sixteen Candles theme. Sucklord was dressed as Anthony Michael Hall in a pink Izod and headgear. It was good. Of course Bill had the awesome and very detailed geek nightvision chickscope that the John Cusack character wore. I went as the cake. Perhaps you remember all this. Anyway, if you tend to like your reading to be politically correct, don�t click on the Suckblog.

9:17 p.m. - November 20, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me