is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not Much Happening, Things on the Horizon.

Not Much Happening, Things on the Horizon.

I fixed the two photos from yesterday's entry. Thanks to one of my readers for trying to help. I went and checked and there was nothing wrong with the HTML. I am just going to chalk it up to one of those diaryland things. I don't really know HTML at all.... I use Diaryland templates and help-things for everything I do. And it works very well. But every now and then something absolutely unexplainable happens within the Diaryland universe. Like you update an entry but the update doesn't register, etc. I keep meaning to learn to do more on my own so I can change the generic template, etc., but, well, there are lots of things I'd rather be doing whenever I could be doing that! So I re-scanned the photos when I scanned some photos for some other friends. And now you can see them. And that is about as exciting a development as I can offer you today.

I should have gone grocery shopping, but instead I stayed home all day, worked, and made the kind of soup that is made of the only things left in the house. It's not so bad. I did get laundry done, and I did the hair dye thing.

While walking the laundry up and down the many flights of stairs, I thought about how I like seeing the geese every day. Soon they will be gone. But for now they allow me to part them like the Red Sea every day when I walk home. They honk at me, and make funny goose-movements. If I happen to be carrying a plastic bag they get very excited and follow me in the vain hope that I am about to drop some yummy goose-cake on them. I don't feed them.

Here they are with my house in the background.

And here they are close up.

I seem to be getting a cold. I have that thick-headed hot-eyed feeling, but am so far not miserable. I am supposed to go to NYC this weekend to have lunch with Simon, tea with Will, and then attend Trip's famous Holiday party with Linda. I will have to see how I feel tomorrow. I will feel very guilty if I miss Trip's party... but I also have to go to Amherst for four days the following weekend, and I don't want to be sick for that, nor for finishing up teaching and getting the finals graded before I fly back to SF on the 16th.

I keep meaning to write more about that John Vanderslice album. It's really good, and interesting. Sooner or later....

7:55 p.m. - December 01, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me