is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Timber!

Timber!

I did go to New York. But not until Saturday. Simon had the flu and I told him he was very welcome to keep his contagions to himself, and was also secretly relieved that I didn�t have to get to NYC by lunchtime. I arrived around 5 on Saturday, and I met Will for a drink or two an hour or so later. I hadn�t seen him since the summer before I moved to Amherst! It was fun to see him. He and I are never at a loss for things to talk about.

So of course I lost track of time. I was supposed to be dressed and ready to leave Linda�s apartment by 9pm, but meanwhile back at the bar with Will I look at my sidekick and note that it is 9:30! So I told him I had to take it on the run. Walked back to Linda�s. She is Linda, so she hadn�t even noticed I was late. I changed into my cocktail outfit, and she and I set out for the night.

The party was fabulously crowded, like the party scene from Breakfast at Tiffany�s. It took Linda and I a full hour to get anywhere near the food table. (Trip�s parties always have great food, so we arrived hungry.) There were so many people squeezed into his apartment that you could only enter another room when other people left that room. I had one of those funny moments, talking to my friend Damian, where I said, �Oh, you�re going to the premiere of The Producers? So is my friend Jeremy ----, because he worked on that movie!� and at that moment a woman was walking by and she turned and said, �Wait, I know Jeremy ----!� The bigger the city, the smaller the world. It helps of course that 45% of the people I know in New York are involved in the film industry in some way. Another 45% does design work of some sort. The remainder: 2% lawyer and 5% musician and 3% academic.

I drank too much bourbon. It was one of those parties where everyone is so drunk that you keep drinking because you don�t feel drunk because everyone is drunker than you. The fact that you are drunk is what lets you ignore the fact that three large tumblers full of bourbon means you�re drunk, no matter how you feel.

However, the next morning, there is no ignoring the fact that you drank four large tumblers full of bourbon.

It was nice to be out on the town and in a crazy crowded party wearing a party outfit! Even though I had a cold and a slightly Rudolphesque nose.

Marian showed up! She has been living in Miami working on a film for EIGHT months! She was very cold when we had to walk a number of blocks in the Suddenly Snowing out-of-doors to get a cab in the wee morning hours. I was very glad to have my boyfriend parka with me. I am still in love with BFP!

On Sunday Patrick came and got us in the Bling Mobile and drove us to Brooklyn, where we met Jeremy for brunch. Then we meandered the streets of Williamsburg a bit, looking at trendy shops. Linda and Marian took off for a loft sale that I avoided because I�m trying to save money. Jeremy, Patrick and I went back to J�s, and then P drove me all the way to Penn Station, which made me feel lucky. And then I took the train home. Because apparently I live in a suburb of Philadelphia, PA. I have a PA driver�s license to prove it.

12:06 a.m. - December 06, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me