is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Trying Is Trying.

Newsflash: Human beings are funny. I just heard that I won�t be getting a second interview with the college I flew to the conference in New York to interview with. Of course, it�s nice to make it past the first stage of elimination, when the hundreds of letters arrive at a place with one job opening, and the letters do go on with their hopeful pleas and descriptions of work and teaching, and those candidates have to be whittled down to ten or so by people who have their own hopes and desires. It�s good to get that first interview or make the �long short list� instead of being discarded and getting the form letter rejection. And it is nice to get the chance to meet your potential new colleagues and be a human face to them, though of course that is also stressful and adds to the feeling of rejection that is going to come later to many who have made it that far.

But. Even though I don�t need a job next year, and even though I know the decision not to invite me to campus most likely has little to do with me and everything to do with their department needs and politics, and even though I�m not even sure I�d want to live where the college is, it still feels crappy not to make it to the final round! The end.

10:37 a.m. - January 09, 2006
js - 2013-01-09 17:22:36
and this post doesn't even mention all the money--money you don't have when you are a graduate student or adjunct professor--spent on going to conferences that don't get you a job.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me