is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ha-eegit. Babies are Selfish. VGCU.

Ha-eegit. Babies are Selfish. VGCU.

On Sunday I went to the upper Haight (pronounced Ha-eegit, after Count Blah of Greg the Bunny fame) with my sister and her fianc�-lamb. We looked at loads of shoes and ate lots of yummy brunch foods and tried on some clothing items. They bought some things and I did not. They even took me out to brunch!

Later, Eggers came by and he and I hung out at my house-sit and then we spent some time walking around the neighborhood and talking. We walked up hills and down hills, and up stairs and down stairs. We viewed many good views, and said many words, sometimes while huffing and puffing at the stair-climbing.

Monday I walked over to the upper Haight (Ha-eegit) again because on Sunday I forgot to bring the boots I needed to drop off at Fluevog for resoling. I did that today. As I was walking down the street to catch the bus to go to Market Street to get BART to go to the dentist in Berkeley, I heard someone say �Hey. Jill!� but saw no face. I backed up a few paces and found my friend Brent, who is currently working on a really cool new quarterly DVD magazine called Wholphin. The idea of the thing is to release films, documentaries and the like that otherwise would never see the light of day, and to accompany these with some background information and/or interviews with the authors/filmmakers. It was fun to run into Brent. He is smart and funny and DOING THINGS. On the way to the dentist I read the whole booklet for Wholphin, and now I am excited to watch the DVD, which includes a short documentary on Al Gore by Spike Jonze, as well as work by David O. Russell and other people who are either less or more famous than Spike Jonze and David O. Russell.

Then I went to the dentist. But, because I was early to the dentist I ducked into RDFL to look for bargains, and found a perfect dark-teal-colored velvet blazer for $9.99. That pleased me. So rarely does a blazer fit this particular figure, and yet here we have a very cute fully lined perfectly hued number all cued up and waiting for me for only ten earth dollars! I am allowed to buy things if I can afford to pay cash!

Then Marco and Evany picked me up, and we went to see Walk The Line at the Parkway in Oakland. When we got there I noticed a lot of baby strollers, and the guy selling tickets looked at us and said, �you know it�s baby night, don�t you?� We were all, �uh oh.� I said, �I guess we�ll be having a different movie evening than we thought!� And the mom ahead of us turned around and said, �I can�t believe anyone would come here if they didn�t have to!�

The movie was good. And it was funny to have all the babies there. I am telling you, it was nonstop baby action. Occasionally during the musical numbers the babies would all pipe down for an instant or two. But otherwise they were crying and babbling and feeding off each other�s energy with. out. pause. Every now and then I�d become aware that I had somehow tuned out the babies for awhile but was now suddenly hearing them all again, and then I�d start laughing. Babies are so selfish! (ha.)

Then we went back to Marco�s and I began to feel very strange, and then realized it was because I had eaten only popcorn and pepsi for dinner. So I ran to Safeway and bought a semi-satisfying frozen food item and ate it while we watched a couple of sitcoms, and then Evany Thomas drove me all the way back to the city and up the hill, because she is made of gold, and silky cat fur.

Daisy the dog�s new name is Frenchy.

In other news, I went bra shopping last Friday morning, because I had a couple of hours to kill between getting off transit from Benicia and meeting my dad for lunch. I�m not allowed to go shopping right now, but I am allowed to buy some bras, because some of the old garments are beginning to get fed up with the hard work they are called upon to perform so often, and have gone on strike. So I got to Macy�s and they didn�t have any of �my bras� in �my size.� (Remember?) None at all, not even in the terrible terrible ugly fleshy bandaid color. So I tried on a few others in �my size� from the same manufacturer and also from a few competitors, just to see if anything has changed. Nothing has changed. One model I thought would fit just fine did not. This was surprising to me because said model was almost exactly like �my bra� except that it was full instead of demi coverage and the straps had front instead of back adjustment mechanisms (which I consider to be a good feature). Otherwise the construction and even the fabric were the same. But I tried it on in �my size� and the cups were way too small. I tried on more than one of these bras because it seemed like the first one must have been wrongly labeled. But no, apparently when you want full rather than demi coverage your boobs are supposed to shrink. However, I did find a new model�full coverage�that fit just fine and is very comfortable as well. In addition it is called �Very Glam Contour Underwire.� The name appeals to my tendency to love 1970s David Bowie. But the bra itself would be hard-pressed (iykwim) to live up to its name, were it called upon to do so. However, don�t you worry. I know how hard VGCU�s job is. I won�t be asking it to join in any fashion shows or reindeer games any time soon. I will not be after it to prove the very of its glamness, or anything like that. And, given how my dating life has gone of late, no one else will either.

12:12 p.m. - January 10, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me