is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hill Walking. Beverage Drinking.

Hill Walking. Beverage Drinking.

Yesterday Evany and I walked up lots of hills and looked at lots of views. This is a view (from the bedroom window of R&J�s place, where I�m staying) of one of the hills we climbed. It�s a grassy hill lined with wooden steps and crowned with a big rock formation.

And here�s the view of downtown from that hill.

Here is a view looking up the Vulcan steps after having walked about half the way up. Resting usually needs to happen at least once.

And here�s one of the cute houses that you can access only by walking the Vulcan steps.

Man, it would be hard to move into one of these places, or get new furniture, or carry home your groceries! However, I kind of wish I lived up here permanently, because it virtually guarantees that you are well exercised every time you opt to leave the house.

The day of walking was fun and tiring, and we learned some things about what streets are connected to each other and which streets are not, up here in the twisty turny-streeted hills. Then we went to Joseph Schmidt so I could buy a thank you gift for my cat-sitting neighbors and my house-sitter-student. I became confused by all my options, but Evany helped me through it all valiantly. I bought a box of mint leaves for myself, and Evany and I promptly turned our lips green with the green sugar that covers the minty dark chocolate of this yummiest of seasonal Schmidt confections.

Then, after walking back up the Vulcan steps (and sometimes "vulcan" becomes an expletive!) and resting, I came back down the Vulcan steps and met my friend Andrew at a bar at 20th and Valencia, and we drank beer and talked about long-distance relationships (his) and music (various) and writing. He is a prince among men. And in his mid-twenties. Then I walked town the street and joined Adam, Julia and Evany as they had dessert after their fine meal. I got there just in time for a few bites of creme brulee and some sort of odd port-like aperitif. Today I�m doing laundry and packing, and later I�ll be eating food at Jeff and Caroleen�s.


2:46 p.m. - January 11, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me