is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On How Everything Currently Seems Ludicrous.

On How Everything Currently Seems Ludicrous.

Still not getting a break cut in my direction regarding money. I make no frivolous purchases, things are almost under control, and yet, around every corner, HORROR. This latest form of horror we can file under the category of THE STATE. I am mindful of Thoreau�s wish, stated in Civil Disobedience, to be �on one of our highest hills, two miles off, and then the State was nowhere to be seen.� Unfortunately Pennsylvania is currently EVERYWHERE. As you know, I have been having a hard time registering my car in Pennsylvania. I�ve been working on it for months. Various things stood in my way, some of them my fault. Like I couldn�t find the title to my car so I had to get a replacement title from California, etc. But now I�m finally at the last step and it is UNBELIEVABLE. To get the final sticker for my license plate I have to pass a state inspection. And that isn�t just an emissions check. I had no idea (and not because I didn�t try to find out. I spent hours online trying to figure out all the steps in this process!), but the mechanic has to check the whole car and replace anything that isn�t in top condition. That�s fine, I don�t want to be driving around in a dangerous vehicle. But they�re making me replace cosmetic things that don�t affect the safety of the vehicle and, because my car is a 20 year old Audi, things like tail-light casings cost a hell of a lot of money, when you can even find them, as parts. The long and the short of it: it is going to cost me $1200 on top of the $200 I�ve already spent� just to be allowed to drive my car in Pennsylvania. Not only that. They won�t even give me my car back until it is OK�d. Which means until my mechanic finds the parts, I don�t even have a car. Did I mention I live in the suburbs, where you can�t do anything without a car? I am not happy. And, no, I don�t have the money either. I am so tired of this drill. Very tired.

I was going to buy my ticket back to SF for spring break this week. Now it's looking like I may not even be able to afford to go. Jill=Sad! Jill=Mad!

But at least Hans Blix (TCNTUNWI) is mastering the French language.

And I do have a very nice reader of this diary, who has promised to send me a new cassette-tape change purse! She read my entry about losing 1/2 of my two-wallet system, and wrote to offer to send me a new change purse because she happened to have more than one. I�ll still miss the old one, it having been in my possession for so long. And of course I�m sorely missing that $140 right now. But it�s nice to get a gift! And very thoughtful of Reader �B� to send it. Good news.

It seems ridiculous that I�m going to Puerto Rico for six days given how much I don�t have any money right now. But the ticket is bought, paid for, nonrefundable. And I guess being there won�t be all that expensive. Still. Everything currently seems LUDICROUS.

11:44 p.m. - January 31, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me