is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wendy Comes To Town and �Winter Mosey�s Back.�

Wendy came to Philly on Friday night, because one of her graffiti-boy friends was having an art opening. She works with a pair (twins, actually) of Brazilian graffiti-artists and so she knows lots of cute street-art boys. This opening was for Sonik aka Caleb Neelon. It was good, and I had fun meeting and talking to some new people. There was some good art, cute little paintings on wood fastened with hardware into woodframes. I would have bought one if I had disposable income. Wendy bought the one that I probably would have bought, and not because I told her to buy it. We both happened to pick the same one.

Then we went and ate some yummy fake-meat Chinese food and took the train back to QB. She stayed in the quaker hotel room next to my apartment. QB lets me use it for free as long as no one on campus needs it for campus business. She could not believe how huge my apartment is, and was equally astounded that she got her own twin bed, tv, refrigerator and bathroom. I was glad she came to visit not only because it was good to see her but also because now she can go and spread the rumor that I am not at all exaggerating when I talk about how huge my apartment is.

On Saturday I made us some vanilla-almond pancakes and she went back to NYC. I walked the 1.5 miles in the rain to go get my car, in the mud along the suburban streets that have no sidewalks, and $1334 later I was driving back home with Pennsylvania license plates and three kinds of stickers that make me legitimate for driving. I learned some things about Pennsylvania this month, yes I did. For instance, it is totally all up in my ass. Oh well, I�m off to Puerto Rico for six days, and I think from there I will not be able to see Pennsylvania at all! Not at all!

Yesterday and today I�ve been getting ready for teaching when I get back, so I don�t have to bring my computer with me to PR. I want to have the lecture ready and then just bring the printed out notes with me so I can get ready on the plane on the way home. Getting ready to teach a 2.5 hours class on a very difficult philosopher is Very Time Consuming. But it�s good for me. I am teaching myself new things about all these texts that I already love, and I�m sure I�ll be learning things from the way my students end up viewing them.

Apparently a huge winter storm is on the way, and I might come home to a foot of snow post-Puerto Rico. So I�ll look all ridiculous with my suntan. All right. The local news on ABC here has this hilarious theme song that goes along with weather alerts. I wish I could do it justice in words. But it sounds Very Serious and it accompanies every mention of the possibility of a storm. True, weather around here is much more extreme and serious than it tends to be in California. But they do take it ever so seriously here, too, to the point of spending an obscene amount of local news time talking about current weather, past weather, and possible future weather.

I am still working my way through that box of Bernard Callebaut truffles. They are So Very Tasty. I forgot to eat some for a few days, but today I realized I still have 12 left and am leaving town in three days. So I HAVE to eat four a day because they will go bad before I return from PR!

Hans Blix (TCNTUNWI) is still an asshole. But he�ll be nice to me again when I get back from PR. It always works that way.

I put together the electronic cat exerciser last night and it was hilarious. It consists of a largish plastic mouse with a tail that twitches around, jerking around with it a fluffy tiny varmint that is attached to the tail. There is a remote control that allows you to power the mouse and make it move around, so the cat can�t guess that it�s you making the toy move. The tail-twitching is perfect, just the kind of movement that drives a cat crazy. Hans Blix spent about 30 minutes observing it from afar (you can leave it sitting there on the floor twitching and go about your business) and then he finally pounced. After he killed the varmint for awhile I hit the remote control and made it move and that freaked his catshit out. But he definitely likes the toy.

Holy shit. In the background I�m watching the local news and of course they�re talking about weather, and they just put up a crafty-ish sign saying �Winter Mosey�s Back.� DO YOU SEE THE INCORRECT USAGE OF THE POSSESSIVE APOSTROPHE?! DO YOU SEE IT?! WAS THERE NO ONE IN THE WHOLE TELEVISION STUDIO WHO NOTICED IT BEFORE THEY PUT IT ON THE AIR?! I ask you. Was there no one there who noticed? Or is it that a guy named Winter Mosey is back in town?

OK, just to confuse me? On the news? They just played the STORM SONG while showing the evening lottery numbers? What is happening! They should know very well that the lottery has ITS OWN SONG, a song that is even funnier, and much more embarrassing than the STORM SONG.

12:16 a.m. - February 06, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me