is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

VDAY

VDAY

Today there was a knock on my door. When I opened it a man was standing there holding a bouquet of cookies! Then he said, �these are for your neighbor, can I leave them with you?� (Sound effect: WAH, wah�. the sound that accompanies cartoon disappointment). Ha! That should be against the law!

Then, tonight as I was teaching my Levinas seminar, my students and I were sitting around talking about solitude and insomnia, and eating chocolate hearts, when one of my students pointed out that her heart-wrapper said �Chocolate always loves you back.� That made me never want to buy Dove chocolates again.

Happy Valentine�s Day, my friends.

Then another student said, �my wrapper says, �view a sunset.�� I watched five sunsets over the ocean in the past week. It was good!

Of course I�m jealous that my friends are still in Puerto Rico doing our daily swim-swim-swim eat drink routine while I�m here making my way through drifts of snow to get to work. I�m not jealous that they are there� I�m glad they�re having fun! I just wish I were still there too. It truly was paradise in a trailer park. The weather was so perfectly wonderful and the ocean was lovely and wavy and warm and the company was perfect. It has been a long, long time since I spent five days doing only fun things and nothing else. Truly a vacation.

Photos are on old-school real film, so it will be awhile before they appear.

Now it�s back to work. I have to give a paper at Johns Hopkins in Baltimore next Wednesday, and it isn�t written yet. There will be lots of people there, some of whom know a lot more than I do about what I�m writing about, so I�ve got some work to do. Plus there�s next week�s class to teach before then. And a meeting of my faculty seminar before then. And there�s more. There always is.

Last week on Scrubs, Zach Braff and his bestest friend, through the usual series of zany hijinx, end up being chased and attacked by hostile ostriches. One of the hostile ostriches steals bestest-friend�s hat, and ZB says, �I do admit that it looks pretty phat in your Kangol.� And, strangely, it did.

11:17 p.m. - February 14, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me