is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Busy. Shoppeeen. VGCU Update.

Busy. Shoppeeen. VGCU Update.

Man, this has been a crazy-busy week. Lots has happened, and I've had no time to write about it, or even to decompress by watching TV. Good news (for me) is that I'm now on a train to the airport to go to San Francisco for 9 days. Yay. I am hoping my tiny vacation won't be interrupted by having to travel to go to an on-campus job interview, but of course it would also be nice to get a campus visit. I did a phone interview Monday night for a possible job on the west coast. But even if I do get a job for next year I hope they'll let me take my second year at QuakerBubble, because I'd like to finish what I've started here, etc. Anyway, that is a worry one should postpone until it actually surfaces as something to worry about!

It has also been crazy-cold here, and I've been reacquainted with how much I love my boyfriend parka. Oh how warm that little number is. It is made of MAGIC! In general I have all good things to say about jackets made by Triple Five Soul (in Brooklyn). They also made my asymmetrical-zip army green trench coat, which is a perfect coat for 40-50 degrees, when the BF parka is too warm.

However, I did once get into a "situation" with the green army trench. I was at a conference and the zipper got stuck. I had to give a paper but COULD NOT GET OUT OF MY COAT. Oh the panic, causing sweating, exacerbated by being STUCK IN MY COAT! I finally had to go all hulk on myself and forcefully bust out of the coat, ruining the zipper for good. Then I was stuck in NYC in winter with a coat that did not zip. I bought some safety pins and did my best.

But Sam, of Sam's Shoe Repair on 16th near Valencia, sewed a new zipper right on in! The asymmetry of the jacket put undue stress on the zipping mechanism, I think. Or I am a retard when it comes to fasteners. All I know is that my BF parka will never try to smother me like that. Its zipper is Heavy Duty, and it never fails to do what it's supposed to do. Plus it also has added bonus toggle closures.

Sam, of Sam's Repair, is an older Chinese man of very few words. He looks at your item, judges it (JUDGES it), and then says a number. That indicates the number of dollars you will give him when you get your item back. He doesn't even give you a claim tag, or a due date. But he is a man who gets the job done! (Only once was I less than pleased with his work. When I tried to have him fix Dicey (a favorite purse of mine), the new zipper didn't work very smoothly. In fact I think I need to have Dicey refixed, because I am not ready to give her up. But that is only one occurrence among many. And perhaps Dicey is just beyond saving, and I am in denial.) Sam has a lady-friend who showed up at some point, cleaned a corner of the Very Dusty shop, and installed a sewing machine! I miss 16th Street.

In other news, I've been online shopping for pink dresses and shoes for my sister's wedding. I found the Perfect Dress and bought it. But when it arrived I found that it looked bad on me. Oh the heartbreak. At least I started shopping early. (Event in June.) Mom, Sister and I are all, like, totally going shoppeeeen on Saturday in Union Square.

Speaking of shopping, I am pleased to report that the new bra style I tried when my usual choice was not available in my size, the Very Glam Contour Underwire, has held up admirably and I am going to buy more of them! I say this because I know some of you want to know. Every time I write a bra-based entry, I get emails from women with their own stories or tips. It's a secret society of underwires.

OK. Tired of thumb-typing now. Posted via Sidekick.

2:45 p.m. - March 02, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me