is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crazy or Brave? And: The Tragedy of Cat Reasoning.

Crazy or Brave? And: The Tragedy of Cat Reasoning.

Thursday night when I finally got to J&C�s (never, never travel on US Airways. Just don�t. Why did I not remember why I first said this a year ago? WHY?! Oh, right. Because I had a cancelled ticket credit hanging over my head.), anyway, Jeff was telling some story about a guy who had built a mechanical carp, and he was really into the story, but C and I were just transfixed by how crazy it was, and Caroleen�s all, Wait, does it really look just like a CARP, and, well, why?, and then Jeff�s all, Just imagine how cool it would be if you had designed something that could swim as well as a fish but you had a remote control to make it do whatever you wanted! And I said, oh, I don�t have to imagine that�. And then C and I couldn�t stop laughing, in fact I was crying-laughing, and then Jeff didn�t like us anymore.

Right now ChinChin is sitting next to me. I was petting her for awhile. And now she�s all mad that I�m not petting her anymore, so she keeps clawing at me and yipping. As if her violence is going to make me want to pet her! And that brings me to: the tragedy of cat reasoning. Every time I bring out the vacuum cleaner, Hans Blix takes it on the run. I vacuum the living room, the hallway, my bedroom, the second bedroom, and the kitchen, in that order, every time. And Hans Blix runs into each of those rooms in that order, every time. While I�m vacuuming the living room, he�s in the hallway, etc. Then when I enter the hallway he has to go apoplectic again, and do the mad leg-scramble into the next room. And so on. He never thinks, �hey, I should run and cower in a room that has already been attacked by the loud fur-sucking monster!� No, he never thinks that at all. Because reflecting on the conditions by which the fur-sucking monster operates is simply not part of his regimen. He�s no big thinker. And so, like a character in a tragedy, he has to re-enact his mistaken decisions over and over again. Such is fate.

Friday night at the Ivy Room, Evany, Marco and I went to see our friends The Bellyachers. It was a good show. Except that I didn�t really like the opening band. And the opening band played for a very long time, such that it felt like there had never been a time when they weren�t playing. But still, it was good to see all the Marco friends. At some point during The Bellyachers� set a young guy came and sat with me and tried to talk me up and also kept grabbing my arm and trying to hold my hand. I�m guessing he was like 24 years old. And he was very handsome, in a way freakishly similar to the kind of guy I really would have had a crush on when I was 24 years old. Anyway, Evany and I discussed how it is impossible to tell, sometimes, whether a guy who chats you up in a public venue is crazy or brave. Is it that he's brave enough, and not yet too jaded, to see a girl he thinks is cute and go for it? Or is he one of the random crazies who do wander the earth, especially in the bay area, looking for people who will listen to them? Sometimes so very hard to tell. Anyway, I chatted with him a bit, and shook his hand a number of times, and appreciated that the handsome youngster was flirting with me, but then I went back to band-watching and that was that.

Today my mom, sister and I shopped all day for wedding-related items. I didn�t buy anything, but some things were bought. Shopping all day is tiring. I came back to the Beattymatt by way of Whole Foods with some Prosecco, a pizza and some Scharffenberger chocolate pudding (so. very. excellent!) and then Jeff and I watched a strange �classic� movie called Five Easy Pieces. Now I�m reading a law journal article and trying to write two different abstracts for papers I have not yet written. One�s for a conference I got invited to in the fall in Montreal, the other�s for a conference I hope to attend next summer (2007) in Hiroshima.

12:56 a.m. - March 05, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me