is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crash Crash.

Crash Crash.

Lots of people hated Crash, I guess. Not only did Adam and Julia hate it, but also Jeff and Caroleen hated it. And a few other people I�ve spoken with in the last 24 hours. And a lot of critics, too, but who cares about them anyway. It�s interesting, Caroleen even said that what she didn�t like about it was that it was oversimplified. However what I liked about it was that it wasn�t oversimplified. I mean, of course not everything in the film was as complex as human life is, but I really was impressed (way back when I saw it last May) with how few of the characters did exactly what you would �expect� them to do, that they would surprise you for better or for worse. I thought that aspect of the film did justice to how very complicated the issue of race really is in this country. But I guess maybe a film that tries to do justice to that set of complications is going to have to strike people very differently, given how complicated it all is? That is the only way I have of explaining why Jeff and Caroleen hated it, because I would have thought they would not have hated it, even if they didn�t really like it.

I still can�t explain why Evany didn�t like Anchorman, however, and complicated themes have nothing to do with that mystery at all. No, nothing complicated there. Nonetheless it remains mysterious, so very mysterious that I had an IM conversation with Gene about how neither of us can understand this mystery of Evany, why she would so hate a movie we so love. However, Caroleen LOVES Anchorman as much as I do, and she laughed very hard when I quoted Anchorman while we were bobbing up and down in the waves in Puerto Rico.

Tonight J, C, and I continued our quest for mythic truths by watching the second part of the Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Two Towers. Did I mention we are watching the extended versions so each film is now four hours long instead of three hours? And yet they still don�t feel like they�re too long�.

The Fellowship of the Rings is the better movie of the two (if you ask me, which is what you officially do by clicking on over to this site). I�ll keep you posted about how it holds up once I re-view the third. It�s fun to watch them in a row instead of having to wait a year for the next installment.

Today I had lunch with one of my dissertation directors/intellectual mentors, and that was fun, though also a bit stressful because she of course wanted to talk about �the job market,� fountain of uncertainty and anxiety even in a year when I don�t even need a job next year. And then, to switch topics, she asked me about my DATING LIFE. You know what I said? I said, �HAHAHAHAHAHAHA.�

Then I went to Macy�s and bought a new VGCU. They�ve started making them in a cool red color, but of course there were no red ones in my size. The only one in my size on the sizable rack (IYKWIM) of their stock was that damned �flesh� color that resembles band-aids. I bought it despite my deep and abiding dislike for that color (which the tag informs me is called "damask neutral," and I'm sure there's a bad joke in there somewhere). In the range of bandaid colors this one is less objectionable than some. And anyway at least it�s not white. Huge white bras are so, so unappealing to me that I sometimes suspect I must have undergone trauma as a child from having to bathe in my grandma�s bathtub while her huge white bras were drip-drying over the sink. Or something. It�s one of those picture memories I have deeply engrained in my psyche, huge white bras drip drying over salmony pink tiled bathroom fixtures. Also there was that time when Pamela Anderson was starring in her crazy show VIP and she had to take off her white blouse and use it as a surrender flag, and so she was walking through a field waving a bright white shirt wearing a HUGE white brassiere. Eeeeuuuww.

Anyway! Then I looked around at the shoes at Macy�s and saw a few cute things, but nothing that made me mad with desire. Then Evany met me at Citizen Cupcake and we sat around eating and drinking chocolate and coffee, and talking for a good hour or two, then I went back to the Beattymatt to get some work done before it was time for THE TWO TOWERS. And now it is time for sleeping.

12:54 a.m. - March 07, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me