is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Photo Booth.

Photo Booth.

The other night Sunny, Leisa and Cash were showing me their new computer, the latest iMac, which includes a camera at the top of its screen and a program called Photo Booth. Anyone who knows me knows how much I love PHOTO BOOTHS and anything like a photo booth, like a sticker-making photo machine, or the lovely machine at the Metreon that will give you a medal with your face engraved on it for five dollars. I also love all things having to do with cameras in general, and I love instamatic cameras like Polaroids for the fun of their instant gratification. However I don't own a digital camera. I am still ambivalent about the move from film.... Anyway, Sunny and I took like 18,000 photos of ourselves, and some of them made us laugh very very hard indeed. I will limit myself to showing you four. The first one, above, uses one of the effects you can apply after taking the photo, to make us look like someone's artschool project of combining impressionism with photorealism, as if such a thing could be done. But there it is!

Then we have the semi-artsy B&W "liner notes" candid shot.

The old-school photo booths with four-frame offerings and black and white film stock are still my favorite. There used to be one (might still be one) at the Elbow Room, a bar in the Mission district of San Francisco. When I was
25-ish (a loooong time ago) Liz and I and various of our friends often drank there, and thus we often took photos of ourselves there, with other friends, or with strangers who may or may not have become friends. In fact I still have a hiLARious set of four-frame b&w photo booth sheets from the night when I first met Brent Hoff (who was dressed as a mime for some reason), and made him and Dave Eggers take way too many photos with me and Heidi. (Bourbon must have been involved.) This was during the MIGHT days, after one of their reading "events." Hmm. Or maybe it was after a birthday party that should never have been held at La Rondalla? Time makes all Elbow-Room-Nights blur into one loooong collage of photo booth moments.

Back in 2006, you can see one of the many fun-house-mirror photos Sunny and I took and then laughed ourselves into crying about. No one else seemed to find it very funny, which is another "photo booth effect."

And here it's just us, hamming it up for the photo booth.

11:41 p.m. - March 09, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me