is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Psycatic Break.

Psycatic Break.

Sunday morning Hans Blix had a psycatic break. I reached out to grab my sidekick to check my email, as I do in the morning, and Hans Blix lunged at my arm and fully grabbed it with his open claw-paws and sunk both of his teeth into my arm and would not let go. It was CRAZY. After a moment of alarm I pulled his head back and then pushed him off the bed. I have no idea what is wrong with him. Sometimes he is just possessed by Lucifurr. It was funny timing, because I had two sets of students coming by to meet him that day to see whether they wanted to sublet my apartment and live with him for the summer. It�s hard to assure someone that the cat is lovely and sweet 95% of the time when you�ve got bloody gashes in your arm.

Over the weekend I spent a bunch of time at a conference on campus put on by my fellow post-doctoral fellow. (I�ll be putting on a conference next year.) Even though her field is not at all mine (she does music theory and aesthetics), it was a great conference. The speakers were all interesting and entertaining, and gave great papers, and the comments and conversations were good, and I had some great conversations with people I had just met. It was fun, in the way work can sometimes be fun (as opposed to the way fun can be fun, you know?). I went to the dinner on the last night of the conference, and had some very yummy potato-encrusted striped bass in thai lemongrass sauce. OMG it was good. And I had a great time talking to the three people who were near me. I was at one end of a very long table of 14 people, so there were all kinds of people whom I didn�t get to talk to at all, given the layout of the table. But that was OK, because those who happened to be sitting near me kept me well entertained for THREE hours. I also had a crab and mango salad, some green tea ice cream, and some wine.

Today I got an email from Recchiuti chocolates, advertising their chocolate easter eggs. They sound FABULOUS. If you�re in SF you should get you some. If you don�t have $28 to spend, just get a star anise pink peppercorn truffle, or a brownie, or one of their other amazingly flavored special truffles. They�ve got cinnamon malt, tarragon grapefruit, burnt caramel, and various tea and spice flavors. Yum! I think I�m going to save up a supply of cash to reward myself with some of those truffles when I get back to SF.

In the meantime I had two pieces of excellent chocolate tart today. I made it for my students. They love me. It's OK. I love them too.

1:26 a.m. - April 05, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me