is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Trip for Trip.

A Trip for Trip.

A rainbow appeared as some clouds rolled in. The weather here is moody, and often brooding. But last weekend it was glorious, 80s and sunny, and I drove up to Bucks County for a garden party for Trip's 40th birthday.

I thought the drive would be 1.5 hours each way. It was 2.5, which really bummed me out. But Trip is one of my oldest friends, and, once I arrived there, the first person I saw was my friend Sarah from college, who I had not seen since roughly 1987. TWENTY YEARS. We had fun eating pie and drinking wine (I had 1.5 glasses, due to the whole driving thing) and catching up, since we have kept in touch with very different groups of friends.

It was me, Sarah, and 30 gay men. And a lot of good food and wine.

When I filled up my gas tank I realized that I had not done so since early December last year! Ha. I am such a sit-at-home!

Took some great polaroids. Perhaps I will scan them and show you later.

I have lately been picking old records to listen to, to see if they are still good. Have you listened to the PJ Harvey song "Long Snake Moan" lately? OH MY GOD. That song rocks so hard that you can hardly believe it is possible. That is what is so amazing about that tiny tiny woman, her unearthly size and power.

Has anyone else been watching that sit-com "How I Met Your Mother"? I think it is pretty funny, and I appreciate how I have had to reassess my feelings about Doogie Houser, MD. Plus the cute guy from Freaks and Geeks is on it, and Willow from Buffy. It's one of those shows that has to grow on you, I think, because it is mostly funny by means of humor that gets repeated over time because of character quirks. And I guess I am a sucker for that�a show that requires some commitment.

Is it ironic that I am impatient with things that don't require any patience of me?

4:17 p.m. - April 17, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me