is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Who will win....? in a world of.... LASER CATS!

Who will win....? in a world of.... LASER CATS!

This week I keep feeling overly disappointed by things that shouldn't be disappointing. I can't even tell the stories about the uncalled-for disappointingness because in the telling I would be implicating people who have not let me down but rather have helped some inner impatience of mine surface from underneath the thick, thick veneer of sometimes ridiculously adult patience with OPP (other people's plans). And really no one has let me down. I should note that this has only to do with local people, here in QB. Time is just moving very slowly right now for some reason. Which is why Evany's beautiful and great diary entry, called "The Key to Inside My Crazy", about youth-time s t r e t c h i n g o u t was so perfect for me today. Read it! And then go find out what your sleeping position is at her sleep quiz page. And then buy her book!

If you buy her book or do the quiz you will see drawings of pictures of me, and Heidi, and Evany, and Marco, and Stephen, which sometimes you can actually tell are me, and Heidi, and Evany, and Marco, and Stephen.

In other sleeping position news, apparently I am an Excalibur? However I don't think I would ever sleep in that position with another person. I'm more like a cuddle for a while and then MOVE OVER IT'S TIME FOR SLEEPING kind of person. But I must admit that I have had very little evidence as to what my sleeping position with another human being would be, of late. So perhaps I will just have to wait until the next time flighty cupid aims his bow at me, and at someone else, for the same reason, and at the same time. Patience! Who will win? ...in a world of LASER CATS?

(That's a reference to a recent skit on SNL. I tried to find it on one of the tubey digital video sites, but it keeps getting removed due to something the lawyers call "copyright infringement." The first line of the skit is: "In the future, there was a nuclear war..." and it's about how cats mutate to start shooting lasers out of their mouths, but then the cats get used for both good and evil, and Who will win? It wasn't crazy-funny, taken all together. But anything Andy Samberg does tends to have at least one or two really memorable moments. And I appreciate that.)

If you have a peeve to register, tell it to my friend Will's new archive, the PeevePile.

I should be appreciating the slow-moving of time. In general I love those days when it seems like you are given extra hours because you manage to TCB the shit out of so much, all in one day. I could be having lots of those days lately, it seems, if I weren't so busy being impatient about OPP. However, I am ahead and not just on time or behind on my work just now, which is good, and I have even begun the two art projects that I didn't get to last time time slowed down for me. And I just had a really good idea, and found a supply source, for making some pretty necklaces that I was given the Platonic idea for in a daydream. And I am about ready to start doing some WRITING of my own (the hope is that this summer will be productive in that way) instead of just doing the constant keeping-up-with-teaching and all that. So things are OK. Perhaps I just need to cut down on the caffeine. Or wait for the mood to pass.

11:00 a.m. - April 19, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me