is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Forty.

Forty.

I am now, this day, officially, undeniably, forty years old. Last night�s party was fun. Evany�s invitation declared �Jill turns forty this month! And forty is such a nice, solid number, the kind you can really set a drink on, and maybe even climb atop for a rump-roaster of a dance shakedown....� And that is what happened. So much dancing that everyone got crazy and sweaty and exhausted, but kept going anyway. There is plenty to say about everything that has happened in the past 48 hours, but, once again, I am exhausted, and detailed exposition will have to wait.

Today Evany and I spent the whole day eating, cooking, eating, talking, and then, a bit later, watching TV (while also eating, and talking). Natalie came over and watched Out of Sight with us (Evany and I both love that movie; Marco and Natalie remain unconvinced).

At the height of the dance shakedown a guy I know, friend-of-a-friend type, said to me, �Hey, come in this room with me; I want to show you the fish tank.� I knew very well that there was no fish tank in that room and that �looking at the fish tank� must, for him, have been functioning as some kind of not-so-secret code for MAKING OUT. I laughed for awhile, because it just seemed ludicrous that of all the ways he might have tried to convince me to kiss him he came up with �looking at the fish tank.� Anyway I said, �Um, No,� and then had to make a dance maneuver across the floor, but I did dance back his way soon thereafter to tell him that I appreciated the question and the spirit in which it was intended, despite my laughing and my refusal. I mean, EVERYONE should have AT LEAST ONE attractive person trying to make out with them at their fortieth birthday party, don�t you think?

There�s more to say about everything, but that�s enough for now. It feels good to be back in San Francisco. And it was also good to get a bunch of phone calls from my East Coast friends wishing me a happy Actual Birthday, as well as some text messages from England and Austria. And it was good to spend the ENTIRE day of my Actual Birthday doing only pleasant things like eating and talking and laying around on the couch and laughing at bad television shows with Evany and Natalie and Marco (and Daisy and Marbles).

11:40 p.m. - May 21, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me