is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

About that party, and the birthday the day after, and the day after�

About that party, and the birthday the day after, and the day after�

Things I ate and drank on my birthday, AKA May 21, in order:

Pepsi. And aspirin + zyrtec.
A sandwich composed of eggs scrambled with fresh oregano and three cheeses, with salsa on an English muffin.
A pink cupcake.
Home fries with a lovely amount of cayenne, with salsa, cheese, and sour cream.
Pepsi.
Three brownies, Two blondies.
Water.
Tortilla Chips.
Flat Bread with an array of fancy cheeses.
A pink cupcake.
Pizza.
Black Cherry Vanilla Coca-Cola.*
Pizza.
A pink cupcake.
Water.
String Cheese.

*The latest�and, I might add, tasty�result of Evany�s new �grocery shopping without glasses on� campaign.

Wendy called from Los Angeles today, with my old college boyfriend Brad, to ask whether there had been a human pyramid at my Oakland party. No, no there had not. But, like I said, there was a lot of dancing. And also: a karaoke machine. Since I know so many musicians, usually a karaoke machine would herald (literally) a coming night of lovely vocal stylings. However there is also Liz Dunn in the world, and she likes a microphone. She really does LOVE a microphone. Here she is honing on Evany�s mic-action.

And, though her vocal stylings are not what anyone would name �lovely,� she is a born entertainer. So that, combined with Marco, and Sandra, and Brian, and Evany (Evany Thomas!), and numerous other rockers, karaoke made for hours of fun earlier in the evening.

It was also possible to escape the rocking and the dancing in the food/booze/chill room� where you could also see MANY MANY PHOTOS of me. In the kitchen/dining room area there were hung, everywhere, across the top of the room, photos of me. Many, many photos of me, throughout the years and at various parties and events. Here�s a daytime view.

Some of these photos were quite alarming, and not in a good way. My sister worked with Evany, Marilyn (who has known me since I was 14), and my mom to produce some EMBARRASSING EVIDENCE of my vulnerability as a human being. But that�s OK. Because I�m forty years old, and I have lived, and intend to keep on doing that, just as I always have done, haphazardly and fully.

Here�s Evany and I, me in one of my grandma�s wigs, at a Halloween party.

Here�s the refrigerator collage, with me with long black hair in 1990 in the center, and me �looking like a 13-year-old rock dude� (quoth Halliday) at the top right.

Here�s me, Natalie and Adam in some special Easter outfits, and me all gussied up for my Prom Party.

Some more prom photos, and me higher than half dome, by which I mean altitude, dude.

I have chosen not to show you the worst of it all. That is my power.

Here's Halliday, Amy, and I on Special Couch #2.

And here's Liz and I, on Special Couch #1. I have a strange look on my face, but you'll be looking at my breasts anyway. I swear the dress doesn't always look like that.

And it was a long day, my day-before-my-birthday! It was a day during which my sister picked me up at E&M�s at 10:30 am, we went and had lunch with my dad (who gave me a new and tiny-cute digital camera and had an entire restaurant staff sing me a birthday song) and then off to my mom�s to see Natalie�s wedding dress. Then to Walnut Creek to get the wedding ring. Then we headed back to E&M�s, where I met Liz, who took me to Keith�s graduation cocktail party. At Keith�s we ate tasty middle eastern food, drank wine and champagne, and Keith gave me a print of one of my favorite photos of his as a birthday gift!

Today Evany and I walked a mile or so to a yummy brunch restaurant, during which time she described to me the various Marcotastic brainstorm sessions that preceded my birthday party, my favorite being: �Forty is the new Twenty so we can have an Eighties party!!!!� repeated over and over again in just that phrasing, in Marco�s voice.

We haven't uploaded all the thousands of photos we took with Marco's camera yet, so there may be more things to show, and more to hide, later.

Leah couldn�t make it to my birthday party, but she did manage to send me a most excellent gift: a box of chocolates from my favorite chocolatier, Michael Recchiuti, along with six of Recchiuti�s best-ever amazing brownies. The box of chocolates includes my favorite, the Pink Peppercorn Star Anise Truffle, along with Sesame Nougat coated with Bittersweet chocolate, Grapefruit Tarragon Truffle, and other amazing treats.

This afternoon things started to return to normal. I just got a new freelance job doing some editing for a website and managing the work of 12 bloggers. So I worked on that for awhile, talked with the site�s overall manager, and started to think about the review essay I have to write about Alain Badiou�s Being and Event. Tonight Marco and Stephen have to watch a show about Jesus (which means, in Marco-speak, sports-which-must-not-be-interrupted), so Evany and I will either go to the movies, or she will drive me over to the CITY where I will move into Jeff and Caroleen�s backroom (literally) for a week before E and I go visit Yosemite Sam for a week!


5:46 p.m. - May 22, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me