is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Straightness. Gayness. Island-Bound.

Straightness. Gayness. Island-Bound.

This weekend has been a bit crazy. Saturday was my sister's bachelorette party. It was fun. And boozy. We saw some fabulous manladies do some dances, and we drank lots of girly drinks (out of penis-shaped straws which, no, I did not buy. I did, however, buy the tiara with the flashing lights that says "bride to be." And the matching boa. It is expected of me to do these things. I am the MAID OF HONOR. And this is all new to me, so I constantly feel like I don't really know what I'm doing.) ANYWAY, it was a fun evening, during which I drank more alcohol than was advisable. Natalie wore the cute Charmmy Kitty corset that I and some of her friends chipped in to buy for her. It looked cute and hot. Heidi and Viveca stopped by for a while, and that was fun.

That was last night. Today I woke up 9:45 am to go to the Gay Parade since it's Pride weekend here in San Francisco. Given the amount of liquor I had consumed last night, I felt very sad indeed when I had to get out of bed. But it's always worth it to go to the Gay Parade. Plus Caroleen made me veggie sausage and apple cake, so all was well. I've got lots of good photos from both events, but so far I haven't had time to download and then upload them. After the parade, Caroleen and I met Sunny and Leisa for brunch at Sunny's hotel. Then we came home and passed out for naps and then we watched many hours of television in a semi-wakened state. It's nice to have a day of nothing-doing sometimes.

I've just now finished packing up all my stuff from the room at Jeff and Caroleen's. Tomorrow I drive my boxes to my sister's house, where I'll be staying for a week when I get back from Hawaii (after that I have a house-sit near Dolores Park until early August). I leave for Hawaii Tuesday morning; the wedding is Friday evening. My mom and I have a sunset cruise on the Na Pali coast booked for Wednesday. We're excited.

Two items for Evany's "honeycomb wand" file:
1) Gnarly dude walking down the street, stops, looks me up and down and says, "Damn, girl, you look good up AND down." 2) Another gnarly dude sees me walking toward him, stops in a very dramatic way, jumps to the side, and then yells (and I do mean YELLS), "I just had to get out of your way, girl!" and then makes some sort of mmmhmmm noise, like a noise made by someone who has just made a very good point, if he does say so himself.

In other, more boring news, I just lost a note-to-self that I've had for years now. It lived in the "draft" folder of my sidekick email filing system, and it was called "entry." It's the place where I kept ideas for writing diary entries or other future non-academic pieces of writing. Recently I got a message from the service that there was an error in saving the message after I added something to it and saved it back to the draft folder. I didn't think anything of it at the time, since I had only updated the message, not created it from scratch. I assumed the original message would still be there, as it always has been, all these years. But no. It is gone. Entirely and utterly absent. And there was a huge and lovely list of writing topics collected in there, some mundane, others more potentially interesting or philosophical. I'm annoyed, disappointed, a bit pissed off about the whole thing. I can remember some of what I had written in there. But not the page numbers of books I was going to write about. Or, for instance, I've been keeping tally of anecdotes that could become a series of comic essays someday, once I get tenure somewhere.... a series called "idiotic encounters with academic men." And I am certain that I will never remember some of what I've lost off of that list, since none of it is worth dwelling on anyway. So perhaps that's fine. STILL. The Sidekick system of having all your files simultaneously on your device and also on the WWW is a good system, such that you never lose your files if you run out of batteries or what-have-you. But no system will keep you safe from every loss. You know that. And yet every loss will be surprising, as if you had no idea it could happen. Doh.

12:24 a.m. - June 26, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me