is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Coconut Love.

Coconut Love.

I totally could have gotten a new BF in Hawaii. One of the guys who worked on the boat in which my mom and I cruised along the Na Pali coast was cute and charming and would not stop flirting with me. But get this, the first thing he said to me contained this content: him looking at me, then my hands, and saying �gorgeous, and she�s NOT MARRIED.� Whoa. I am so outside of thinking that way that sometimes I miss the cue that someone IS married because I don�t make a habit of checking people�s fingers. Anyway, my new BF, he�s an EMT who went to Kauai from the bay area in March to help with all the emergencies caused by Kauai getting two months in a row of heavy heavy rain, and now he�s just working on a tour boat having fun. I�m sure it helps him get the chicks, too. I would have gone to the bonfire he invited me to just to see what the locals do, if it weren�t for the fact that I was with my mommy, and we were staying far away on the remote northern edge of the island. (The island is not very big, but it can take a very long time to get from point A to point B because the highways are all 2-lane highways, and some of them are riddled with one-way bridges that make you take turns crossing with the oncoming traffic, and etc. But who cares because you�re in Hawaii, where you can eat magical amounts of coconut.)

Speaking of which, I had the most amazing breakfast ever on Saturday, the morning after Natalie�s nuptials. Natalie and Scott and Mom and I met Dad and Anne and we all chowed down at a place called Kountry Kitchen in Kapa�a. I ordered coconut french toast, which sounded like heaven, but ended up being EVEN BETTER than it sounded. It was basically a piece of cake-like bread soaked in french toast batter, encrusted with coconut flakes, and then fried into a pancake, such that each piece of french toast had pancake stuck to its bottom. Top that with a mixture of maple and coconut syrups, and you have one very happy Jill. Damn! That was good.

The wedding was beautiful. And it went just as my sister wanted it to go, which is of course the most important part. She worked very hard to get things just right, too. I was relieved the day before the wedding when we were at the beauty salon, and my sister had gotten a mani-pedi in the french manicure style, and then turned to me and said, �I can�t believe I just got my nails done�. to look like nails!� Bridezilla had not stolen her comic sense of the absurd. Ha! However, like I just said, her madness paid off because everything went exactly as she wanted it to go, and the wedding was lovely and romantic and touching and perfect, and the next morning, as I was eating the perfect breakfast, she declared that she had had the perfect wedding, and wedding day. And that made me happy. Plus, there was coconut in my mouth.

I also ended up loving my maid of honor dress more than I thought I would. It�s pretty and kinda glamorous, like a 40s movie star or something. And I�ve been wearing my hair unclipped and curly lately, which goes well with the dress, but is fun and amusing to me (fun because it�s free of hairclips, amusing because I look so perky and not-like-me to myself, somehow, because of the irrepressible curliness of my hair when it grows longer). I don�t have any photos of myself from the day yet, but I�m sure some will be coming my way. Everyone was snaptastic with the cameras, plus there were some formal portraits taken.

Kauai is beautiful. There are many hikes there I�d like to take upon a return visit someday. And many more beaches I�d like to visit. I only got to go to three beaches, and that was by demanding it of my mom, who was doing all the driving. (Like Marco, for some reason she always has to be the one driving, or else she gets nervous.) I went to Hanalei Bay beach, Ke�e beach, and Haena beach, and all were lovely and all were different, and all were worth hassling, finding, parking, and jumping on in. I even faced my fish issues (fissues) and swam with some cute fish.

Back in the bay area, on the third of July a bunch of us went to the Marin County Fair. It was a perfect fair day. Hot hot sun, bad bad food, good good company, and rides, animals, crafts, and rockstars. Joan Jett and the Blackhearts were playing (which is one reason why we talked Jeff and Marco, who hate rides but love Joan Jett, into going), and I spotted the Blackhearts hanging around smoking in the shade of a tree before we even got in the gate of the fair. Evany remarked that I have an uncanny ability to locate rockstars. I added that I�m also good at finding dessert. And then I found the funnel cakes.

At the fair I ate coconut shrimp, a hot fudge sundae, french fries, pepsi, and a funnel cake. And I rode the Tilt-a-Whirl, my favorite ever ride. It was me and Caroleen and Tom in the ride-car together, and we got our leaning and tilting science down very quick, such that the ride centrifuged the hell out of us, as we leaned back laughing and screaming. Then Joan Jett rocked hard. Then we saw fireworks. Then Evany and Caroleen were denied passage on the Zipper, which was sad. But Evany and Tom jumped on to the hang-glider ride with me and, once we were airborne, Tom sang the dorky love song from the Christopher Reeve/Margot Kidder Superman movie flying love scene, and that was hilarious. It was a good day. Now it�s back to work.

I wanted to post some photos, but I am oh-so-tired right now. Soon.

11:06 p.m. - July 05, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me