is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Coach Carter Triumphs over Adversity.

Well, I haven't really done much construction on the site. For instance there is a notation at the bottom of the entry about comments, but as yet no comments feature for making comments. I know this. I do, however, really like the "random entry" option in the right toolbar area. I myself have used it to remind myself of some funny funny happenings in the past life of Jill. Like this.

Evany (Evany Thomas) ordered COACH CARTER on Netflix about a decade ago but never watched it. So everytime anyone asked what we should do she would suggest that we, perhaps, might watch Coach Carter. It became a running joke, a constant challenge, and a frightful hurdle over which all her companions feared they must one day jump. And jump I did, on Saturday night. Marco, Evany and I watched the shit out of Coach Carter. It was just as you would expect any movie about a tough teacher who whips a ragtag band of hooligans into shape would be. And it gave us this lovely punchline to insert into various situations: "I tied that shit!"

Then on Sunday we cooked a yummy brunch and lots of people came over and ate it, and we drank champagne and ate things. Then we watched a couple episodes of the British-version of What Not To Wear (so much better than the U.S. version, because Trinny and Susannah aren't mean and snippy like Stacy and Clinton, and, man, why do I know all their names when I don't even have cable television?). Then I drove out to Benicia, where I've been staying, without internet, ever since. Right now I'm at the UC Berkeley library, where I've been reading legal theory for four hours, and I need to get OUT OF HERE before I break the law or something.

Went to my first french class on Monday. I was nervous that since I haven't spoken french in years, and I hadn't attended the first two class meetings, that I would be the lame-ass in the group. But I am not. In fact my accent is much better than almost anyone else in the class. And that does not mean that I have a good french accent, OK? Anyway, I hate taking language classes. I am doing this because it is good to take yourself out of your own comfort zone sometimes (see Evany's entry on being EXCITED instead of NERVOUS or WISHING TO AVOID), and also because it is embarrassing to write about French philosophy but be unable to speak French. People don't believe you when you say you read French. So I'm taking French. For three hours every Monday night for the rest of the summer. EXCITED.

5:31 p.m. - July 12, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me