is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Writing about Not Writing.

I had lunch with my good friend Dave the other day, during which we discussed the things we usually discuss, like my lovelife or lack thereof (currently it isn't so much lack as suspension or distance), and the strange world of people who are "writers." I did my latest softshoe about why writing is torturous, and how is it that some people do not find it torturous, and he added some wisdom to the pot (just to mix the metaphor), and we stirred it up, and all the while I ate a sandwich and he drank gatorade (because we are so talented, and great at multi-tasking!). We also discussed how proud we are of Evany (Evany Thomas!), for going out there and doing a book tour and reading the shit out of her book in public and stirring up interest and keeping those orders coming in, because it is a very hard thing to do, public reading. Perhaps even harder than writing in the first place. Or at any rate not easier! Writers work hard, even though they don't seem to be working when you look at them sometimes, OK?

On that theme.... I have this list of interesting topics I'd like to address in this here webdiary but lately I've been spending a lot of time doing other writing. You know, the torturous kind. I've just gotten to that lovely spot in one little torture device (aka "paper") where the writing is going along smoothly and slightly enjoyably rather than torturously. Anyway, after spending most of the day doing that, I feel drained of all inspiration, cleverness, wit, candor, aplomb. And so the topics will have to wait. Did I mention I have four papers (aka "torture devices") that I should have written by the end of August? And that I'm supposed to be writing a BOOK, TOO?

I need Captain Jack Sparrow to drink some rum and entertain me, instead.

Anyway, my as-yet unwritten topics. Will I ever end up writing about the new law-based weekly drama I want to create, the latest Law and Order spin-off, called Law and Order: Police Error? Maybe. Then there's the future-entry called "The Impossibility of Ever Really Saying What Happened," and that one might be kind of sweet and romantic. And then there's the one about how I feel so sad for the military, especially the JAGS (you know Judge-Advocates, the lawyers for the military) because there they are, doing their jobs, while the Bush Administration makes the world even less safe for soldiers than it already is (by undermining the Geneva Conventions (there really are several Geneva Conventions, that's why I always write it in the plural; it's not another joke about the time Bush said "internets"), etc.) and the Bush Administration is also totally undermining the rule of law in international and domestic courts, while it is the military JAGs who are trying to defend it! Who would have thought it would come to that? The MILITARY is trying to save the RULE OF LAW from being destroyed by the GOVERNMENT OF THE UNITED STATES! I guess some might call that ironic.

Those are all things I might write about someday. Some of them are more fun than others.

Love, Jill

PS-- You look cute today.

PPS-- I'm sorry about that black fly in your chardonnay. But it is not ironic, OK?

PPPS-- Do you know anyone who can make me a stuffed animal version of Haku (from Spirited Away) in his dragon form?

12:26 a.m. - July 21, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me