is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How I Get By.

Here is where I sit, in my current glorious house-sit, writing and working, whenever I'm not four floors underground writing and working in the UCB library.

It was a hard brain-scrambling day of work, but I think I have the paper that I have to have done very soon almost done. Have to look up some cites at the library tomorrow, and make sure everything makes sense in the order in which it is presented. Ugh. And then I have to start on the next of the four papers. So sad. At least most of what I'm doing is also work towards the mythic "book" that I'm writing. Also, today I waited ALL DAY for UPS to arrive, which only accentuated my trapped-in-the-house feeling. (However, at least I wasn't trapped in the closet with R. Kelly.)

Still, instant messaging is a good way to punctuate a day of work.

---------------------- 12:15 pm ----------------------
CB: my itunes is crazy
CB: it's full of surprises
jill: ah, shuffle
CB: here comes 'show me the meaning (of being lonely)'
jill: haha
jill: backstreet's back
CB: alright!
CB: is this the feeling i need to walk with?
---------------------- 12:24 pm ----------------------
jill: remember when they wore the flaming dickies?
jill: good times
CB: aw yeah
CB: hey
CB: are you sitting down?
jill: yes
CB: there's a new sammy hagar album!
---------------------- 3:31 pm ----------------------
jill: nacho libre 2nite at parkway, 7pm?
CB: already have plans
CB: this wasn't supposed to happen
jill: darn you to heck
CB: I was suppose to see this WITHOUT everyone else
CB: is this bizarroworld?
jill: it might all go to hell, dep. on UPS
---------------------- 3:37 pm ----------------------
jill: it's funny that a guy named kool sings 'too hot'
jill: but maybe that's how he knows
---------------------- 4:03 pm ----------------------
jill: there is some ticking thing in the neighborhood
jill: like I'm captain hook
jill: and the crocodile is outside waiting
CB: omg
CB: what IS that?
jill: it is ANNOYING
CB: on dolores st?
jill: yeah
jill: maybe 19th
CB: hippies?
jill: or an electric generator
CB: ohhh
CB: makes sense
---------------------- 4:17 pm ----------------------
jill: word for breaking through the ground from below?
---------------------- 4:22 pm ----------------------
CB: scuzles?
jill: prezar!
CB: shazam!
jill: I should have married gomer pyle when I had a chance
CB: there wasn't enough of him to go around
jill: {weeping}

During all this time I also had an extended IM conversation with Gene about how hard he works and whether or not being told to lower your standards is a lowpoint in one's life. He tried to accuse me of wearing a beret because I am taking French, and then he called me a UPS spinster, so very long had I been awaiting the arrival of my NEW LUGGAGE. I also had a fairly lengthy but mostly informational will-we-or-will-we-not see Nacho Libre IM conversation with Evany. Evany thought we should be eating nachos while watching, while I thought that we should set the nachos libre and stick to pizza. We could have done both easily, were it not for UPS!

UPS never came until 8:30 pm, which meant that Marco and Evany saw Nacho Libre without me. Which is fine, since I haven�t really wanted to see it anyway (hence CB's surprise that I was actually asking her to see it with me). I was only going to go because I had been writing all day, it was hot, and the movie was playing at the Parkway, where you can eat pizza and drink beer while watching your movie! Plus I need to get me some Evany Thomas! I am still a bit bummed that I missed out on the pizza and beer, and Evany and Marco. But maybe tomorrow I can make someone invite me over to watch Project Runway and order PIZZA AND BEER. Maybe. Because tomorrow and Thursday I am spending all day in the library, writing and what-have-you, which means that I will need PIZZA AND BEER. Tonight's tofu dog, cottage cheese, apricot, and grapefruit didn't quite cut it.

12:18 a.m. - July 26, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me