is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pretty Cakes + Photos.

I spent most of the day underground in the library, and I feel like a mole, by which I mean a creature who lives underground, not a person who spies on others secretly. I did get to have some sushi and sake with my friend Sara after all the studying and such. We talked about writing and legal philosophy, and it wasn't boring at all.

We ate at a Japanese restaurant right by Black Oak Books, the bookstore where Evany will be reading next Wednesday at 7:30. And also right next to Masse's Pastries, the bakery that made Natalie and Scott's wedding cake. Man, that was a beautiful cake, and TASTY. If you are getting married or have need for a fancy cake, go to Masse's. The people are nice there, the cakes are beautiful and masterfully done, and they've got a fine array of flavors and styles you can choose from.... AND their cakes are less expensive (though still expensive, of course) than those offered by many other bakers of fine large fancy cakes. Here's the cake!

It was passionfruit on the bottom layer (amazingly tasty delicate and yet bold flavor!) and the top two layers were chocolate and raspberry (how could it be wrong?). Please do not fail to note the porthole and framed fish pictures in the background behind the cake. The reception was held in the banquet hall of Spenger's Fish Grotto.

When Natalie and Scott had their dance, all of her friends gathered around and blew bubbles on them. It was cute.

Here's a photo of Marilyn and I as we watched their first dance.

Later on, everyone started busting moves. The DJ was pretty good. It made my dad sad that people get DJs instead of bands for weddings these days. He likes live music, and also likes to play live music. I understand. But man, I'd rather bust a move to a DJ playing Prince than to a cheesy band. Of course not all bands are cheesy. But I think it's probably harder to get a band that satisfies everyone at a wedding, whereas a DJ can bring lots of records. (Ha, 'records.')

As the party wound down, Heidi was trying to convince me to go to another party with her. I was hesitating, when Natalie called me a loser and then asked to come to the party with us, in her bridal gown. It ended up being Heidi, Marilyn, me, my cousin Marc, Natalie and Scott, in two cars. On the way to the party we got the word that the party was small and quiet, so we decided to go to a bar instead. Here's a shot of Heidi, Marilyn, Marc and I, featuring Marc's nose doing some sort of solo act.

And here's proof that Natalie was out partying in her wedding duds at Club Mallard in scenic Albany, CA.


11:27 p.m. - July 27, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me