is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Book Danger.

Last May, when I was packing, and going through my traditional crazed deliberating over what to bring and what to leave, and am-I-bringing-too-much but also what-if-I�m-not-bringing-enough, I was worried about spending a summer writing without being surrounded by all my books. And there have been a few moments when I've wished I had my actual books with me, so I could more easily find a cite. But for the most part it has been liberating. I�ve done lots of writing that, in the long run, may be better because I can�t rely on going to my books every time I want to make a point. When I need to double-check my accuracy or get citations I can do so at the library. (Though, on occasion, even that is tougher than you might think, because the UCB library is under-staffed, and SO MANY books are listed as on the shelves but are not on the shelves, and at the same time, you can�t order them from other libraries because the UCB library supposedly �has� them. Annoying.) Anyway, I�ve found it interesting how much I actually know some of the material, and that it took being away from all my books to remind me of that.

Speaking of books, on Saturday morning when Evany, Marilyn, and I were eating the yummy breakfast burritos that Evany made, I noticed that I had a bruise on my left breast? And I had no idea how I could have gotten it? No idea at all. No conceivable thing could have happened to me that would cause such a thing. Then, a day later, I remembered. When I was getting a book down off of a high shelf in the stacks of the Main Library at UCB, a shower of books fell on me. I remember it hurting. A lot. In various places, at the time. And that is how I came to have a bruise, there, and elsewhere as well. Mystery solved. Too-many-books can be hazardous.

10:18 p.m. - July 31, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me